Author Topic: IQ's neogeo Tools  (Read 62166 times)

Offline fernando2

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #45 on: August 24, 2005, 02:18:48 pm »
hi iq_132 could you post your source for decrypt kof2002 magic plus please

sorry about my engish im from mexico

thanks

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3580
  • Karma: +376/-0
  • Just a lion with a sword
    • NeoSource
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #46 on: August 24, 2005, 02:55:19 pm »
Here ya go. :)


Offline rock23

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #47 on: September 08, 2005, 05:17:08 pm »

hi ! iq_32. could you make a tool to change file
 format spr (neogeocd) from 16mb into 2 files format .
rom (neogeo) of 8 mb each ?

Thanks! :wink:

Offline KaNyErO

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #48 on: September 08, 2005, 08:16:20 pm »
hi ! iq_32. could you make a tool to change file
 format spr (neogeocd) from 16mb into 2 files format .
rom (neogeo) of 8 mb each ?

Thanks! :wink:

you can do it by yourself with winhex

first do a byteswap 16
then do a disect file wordwise 16 bits and voila...

Offline rock23

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #49 on: September 09, 2005, 09:00:29 pm »
It does not work
continuous badly the tiles :biggrin:

Offline robber804

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Relentless Bastard
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #50 on: September 09, 2005, 11:41:33 pm »
Kany if i remember correctly (you may have been the one that told me this) but neocd loads the sprites as it needs them, i am not sure what would have to be done to the p rom to correct this so the game can run correctly, i dont think zintrick suffers from that since the sprites are small, im not sure but i think the neocd hardware can  only has 4mb of ram for sprites..  but i could also be totally wrong since i lost what info i had on the hardware :)

but anyway... using winhex for those that need a little help

mark the beginning and end of your file

ctrl+t select 16 byte swap

then to split into 2 files so it can be loaded by the mame driver select file manager and then dissect, select wordwise then save your 2 new files.  I tried to take some screen shots but they were not helpful at all :P

hope this helps... i will be out of town until monday evening, see ya later

« Last Edit: September 10, 2005, 12:15:44 am by robber804 »
-robber804

Offline KaNyErO

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #51 on: September 10, 2005, 06:46:57 am »
Kany if i remember correctly (you may have been the one that told me this) but neocd loads the sprites as it needs them, i am not sure what would have to be done to the p rom to correct this so the game can run correctly, i dont think zintrick suffers from that since the sprites are small, im not sure but i think the neocd hardware can  only has 4mb of ram for sprites..  but i could also be totally wrong since i lost what info i had on the hardware :)

but anyway... using winhex for those that need a little help

mark the beginning and end of your file

ctrl+t select 16 byte swap

then to split into 2 files so it can be loaded by the mame driver select file manager and then dissect, select wordwise then save your 2 new files.  I tried to take some screen shots but they were not helpful at all :P

hope this helps... i will be out of town until monday evening, see ya later



Yep, ngcd only can load 4 mb of sprites at the same time, because ngcd only hast 4 mb of ram for that pourpose. even if it were possible, Hacking a Program rom to make diferent loads may be a pain in the ass :S.

Im still waiting someone that understand to fix the final romance 2 conversion that was released a long time ago , the program rom must be modified to avoid it hang , i think there could be some calls to bios or cd that do that. Anyone could help  :confused: :confused: :confused:

Offline fernando2

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #52 on: September 13, 2005, 10:56:00 pm »
hi iq_132 do you have a source to decrypt kf10thep?

could you post it here?

thanks for your help

bye

Offline robber804

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Relentless Bastard
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #53 on: September 15, 2005, 01:53:37 am »
Yep, ngcd only can load 4 mb of sprites at the same time, because ngcd only hast 4 mb of ram for that pourpose. even if it were possible, Hacking a Program rom to make diferent loads may be a pain in the ass :S.

Im still waiting someone that understand to fix the final romance 2 conversion that was released a long time ago , the program rom must be modified to avoid it hang , i think there could be some calls to bios or cd that do that. Anyone could help  :confused: :confused: :confused:

NeoCD has these patches in place
Code: [Select]
/*** Patch BIOS exit ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x55e)) = 0xFABE;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x560)) = 0x4E75;

/*** Patch BIOS load files w/ now loading message ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x552)) = 0xFABF;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x554)) = 0x4E75;

/*** Patch BIOS load files w/out now loading ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x564)) = 0xFAC0;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x566)) = 0x4E75;

/*** Patch BIOS CDROM Check ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xB040)) = 0x4E71;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xB042)) = 0x4E71;

/*** Patch BIOS upload command ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x546)) = 0xFAC1;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x548)) = 0x4E75;

/*** Patch BIOS CDDA check ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x56A)) = 0xFAC3;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0x56C)) = 0x4E75;

/*** Full reset, please ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xA87A)) = 0x4239;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xA87C)) = 0x0010;
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xA87E)) = 0xFDAE;

/*** Trap exceptions ***/
*((short*)(neogeo_rom_memory+0xA5B6)) = 0x4AFC;
-robber804

Offline KaNyErO

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #54 on: September 15, 2005, 04:58:36 am »
thanks robber but im not sure how that will help to fix the fr2 conversion to aes/mvs


 :confused:

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3580
  • Karma: +376/-0
  • Just a lion with a sword
    • NeoSource
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #55 on: September 16, 2005, 01:08:41 am »
hi iq_132 do you have a source to decrypt kf10thep?

could you post it here?

thanks for your help

bye
Sure, here you go.


Offline Robert

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 395
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • The MESSUI Place
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #56 on: November 14, 2005, 02:48:58 am »
IQ, I need some code that I can add to MAME to save areas of memory to a file, such as if I wanted to make a decrypted rom. Basically simply dump a block of memory to a file. Can you help? Thanks in advance.

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3580
  • Karma: +376/-0
  • Just a lion with a sword
    • NeoSource
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #57 on: November 14, 2005, 02:10:57 pm »
FILE *FP; // define FP

FP = fopen ("output.bin", "wb"); // define file name and what to do with it

fwrite (memory_region( REGION_CPU1 ), 1, memory_region_length( REGION_CPU1 ), FP); // write program data

fclose (FP); // close the file, you must do this or your program will crash.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 03:35:25 pm by iq_132 »


Offline Robert

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 395
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • The MESSUI Place
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #58 on: November 14, 2005, 07:51:50 pm »
w00t *bows to the superior intellect*

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3580
  • Karma: +376/-0
  • Just a lion with a sword
    • NeoSource
Re: IQ's neogeo Tools
« Reply #59 on: November 14, 2005, 08:08:19 pm »
lol, np :cool: