Author Topic: perfect scanlines with Reshade  (Read 1599 times)

Offline pacioso

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
perfect scanlines with Reshade
« on: February 09, 2017, 02:54:09 am »
I tried Reshade's CRT shader with FBA' DX9 alt blitter and with just a little setup I got amazing results! No black borders and perfect alligned scanlines. Everything runs fast on my 7 years old laptop even with xBR filters.
Here are some screenshots, see at 100% zoom to appreciate.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
  • Karma: +216/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 07:58:07 am »
That looks great :)

Offline jan_klaassen

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 315
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2017, 03:19:29 pm »
A couple of things --

1) Competition is good, so if you want to add that shader to FBA and add UI controls to it, then great!
2) These screenshots seem to have double the number of scanlines they should, though
3) I've been consolidating the blitters/effects in FBA (including overhauling the scanline rendering) -- maybe wait a bit until that's released so you don't need to do the work twice, or alternatively spin it off into a seperate blitter.

Here's a few screenshots at the same resolution using my current code; first using my own CRT simulation (see what I mean with "competition"?) and second a regular cubic filter with arbitrarily scalable scanlines.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2017, 03:33:49 pm by jan_klaassen »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
  • Karma: +216/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2017, 05:37:30 pm »
https://reshade.me/
It's external to FBA

Offline jan_klaassen

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 315
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2017, 05:59:19 pm »
ew! I just looked at the shader code...

Anyway, that could integrated. MAME uses it...

Offline riccetto80

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2017, 12:22:24 pm »
Hi, first of all, thanks for the amazinf fba!!!

second, yes your scanline option is not bad at all, but with reshade you can simulate the crt curv/reflection and also the bloom...

i cannot find option to do so in fba 64bit.



Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2017, 02:30:46 pm »
Hi, first of all, thanks for the amazinf fba!!!

second, yes your scanline option is not bad at all, but with reshade you can simulate the crt curv/reflection and also the bloom...

i cannot find option to do so in fba 64bit.

As far as I know, the official FBA release (32 and 64 bit version) doesn't support the Reshade's CRT filter(s)...

Offline jan_klaassen

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 315
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2017, 03:01:23 pm »
IIRC MAME uses those shaders.

I'm not much interested in matching the features in reshade's CRT shader (if I wanted that, I'd just use reshade's shader and be done with it), FBA's CRT simulation has its own trajectory. IMO, curved screen is a neat gimmick, but nothing more (and I was there long before reshade). In the mean time, see the WIP thread for upcoming updates.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
  • Karma: +216/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2017, 06:40:45 pm »
My buddy has it running in FBA 32bit on Win7, the options are in the ReShade config IIRC and separate from FBA.

bye for now,
- dink

Offline Bad Dude

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2017, 04:15:22 pm »
Looks great. The black borders in scanline effects really annoying me.


Offline riccetto80

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2017, 06:23:07 am »
well if it was possible avoid use reshade was simpler, but it is what its is, i will use final burn and his internal scanlines + reshade for bloom and crt effect!

i like to recreate the feeling of old cabinet, to play old games! :D

Offline jan_klaassen

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 315
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: perfect scanlines with Reshade
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2017, 08:24:03 am »
It is what it is. That said, I won't stop something like reshade from working with fba. There are a number of shaders around now that are variously successful at mimicking aspects of CRT behaviour and NTSC/PAL encoding. FBA's has focus controls, which I think none of the others do. There's more to come, but the colour correction options and focus controls make it a pretty compelling option now, IMHO.