Author Topic: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug  (Read 601 times)

Offline 3xcl4m4t10n

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« on: November 06, 2017, 01:12:19 pm »
Hello community,

I have found a weird bug on Jojo's Heritage for the Future for CPS3. If you select Hol Horse and use it "S" command (gun shoot) and, after it, you command some "contradictory" inputs like left+right, up+down or some combinations, FBA crashes.

I tried it on MAME and it doesn't crash, so it seems not to be related with the driver but with FBA, could it be?

Thank you.

EDIT: So I have been making some more tests and here are the results:

- This bug was on MAME long time ago. It is a emulation bug not a hardware bug.
- MAME team fixed it some time ago and it doesn't occur anymore on MAME.
- For some reason, FBA team only fixed it on Player 1 side, but if you do the bug on Player 2 side the emultor crashed.
- So we tried it on debug mode and put the same controls for P1 and P2. This is the result:



As you can see, when you press up+down (or left+right in this case) P1 side doesn't show any input, but on P2 side, it show an input that cause the crash. I tried it on MAME and both sides show no input so no crash.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 01:28:28 pm by 3xcl4m4t10n »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2569
  • Karma: +220/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 06:16:52 pm »
Jojo is fixed, thanks for the bug report!

Shine, here's a diff for testing, if you'd like to try it.
Code: [Select]
Index: cps3run.cpp
===================================================================
--- cps3run.cpp (revision 5127)
+++ cps3run.cpp (working copy)
@@ -215,6 +215,13 @@
        if ((*nJoystickInputs & 0x0c) == 0x0c) {
                *nJoystickInputs &= ~0x0c;
        }
+
+       if ((*nJoystickInputs & 0x0300) == 0x0300) {
+               *nJoystickInputs &= ~0x0300;
+       }
+       if ((*nJoystickInputs & 0x0c00) == 0x0c00) {
+               *nJoystickInputs &= ~0x0c00;
+       }
 }

 // ------------------------------------------------------------------------
@@ -2011,7 +2018,6 @@

        // Clear Opposites
        Cps3ClearOpposites(&Cps3Input[0]);
-       Cps3ClearOpposites(&Cps3Input[1]);

        for (INT32 i=0; i<4; i++) {

best regards,
- dink

Offline shine

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2017, 04:40:24 am »
That fixed the issue, thanks dink

Offline 3xcl4m4t10n

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2017, 04:59:48 pm »
Thank you so much @dink and @shine :D.

Offline 3xcl4m4t10n

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 08:05:38 am »
BTw, there is a chance to see the P2 combo meter not showing fixed on FBA?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2569
  • Karma: +220/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: Jojo's Bizarre "Bizarre" bug
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2017, 09:34:29 pm »
BTw, there is a chance to see the P2 combo meter not showing fixed on FBA?

I can't make it show in fba or mame - is it missing there as well?  Keep in mind I might be doing it wrong, I don't know anything about these fighting games.. but  I can get the "2 hit" etc to come up for player 1, just not player 2.