Author Topic: Flickering Stuff  (Read 175 times)

Offline Fulg0re

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Flickering Stuff
« on: February 01, 2018, 02:02:51 pm »
hi there ...

I found 2 Games which have some kinde of flickering problems.
Samurai Shodown 3 and 4.

Character and Lifebar are flickering very strong.
I tried out every blitter and soft fx. Always the same.

Are there other " working" roms out there which do not have this problem ?

Kind regards

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3905
  • Karma: +365/-0
  • No one expects the Spanish Inquisition!
    • NeoSource
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2018, 02:22:01 pm »
A lot of these games use a flickering effect to simulate transparency. Not a bug, but a feature.


Offline Gab75

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 487
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2018, 06:39:15 am »
As iq_132 wrote, many 80s/90s games use the "flickering trick" to simulate trasparency effects... in the old CRT screens the "flickering trick" has a good outcome, it blends with the intrinsic refresh interval on Cathode Ray Tube (CRT), while in the modern LCDs the outcome is rather mediocre...

Offline Fulg0re

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2018, 10:19:03 am »
Hi there

I play on a CRT Monitor in the correct refreshrate so thats what makes me
curious cause on my original Neo Geo AES i don not have the Effekt :(

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2745
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • I <3 fried chicken
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2018, 06:49:35 pm »
Hi Fulg0re,
It's really hard to get this effect (flicker-blur) perfect in emulation, but it can become close. 
Here's some tips to try:
Set blitter to DX9-Alt and enable: Blitter Options -> Advanced Settings -> Motion Blur
or if you don't like motion blur, try enable triple buffer, force 60hz rate and play fullscreen.

bye for now,
- dink

Offline Fulg0re

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2018, 03:12:31 am »
Hi there,


i tested it on my Laptop Works perfect no flickering !!!

BUT ...

On my Arcade PC i am not able to run DX 9 Alt. FBA will crash with GURU 3D Error Message.
When i run DXDIAG i can see that DX 11 is installed which is also compatible with earlier DX Versions.
This is the last thing i have to fix but dont know how.


kind regards

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 238
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • lr-fbalpha developer
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2018, 04:00:57 am »
On my Arcade PC i am not able to run DX 9 Alt. FBA will crash with GURU 3D Error Message.
When i run DXDIAG i can see that DX 11 is installed which is also compatible with earlier DX Versions.
This is the last thing i have to fix but dont know how.
Did you try installing https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=8109 ?
To my knowledge, DX11 is not really compatible with DX9 games, you shouldn't trust microsoft too much.

Offline Fulg0re

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Flickering Stuff
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2018, 05:12:35 am »
Hi there...

No it runs almost perfectly !!!!!!!
It was my fault :)

I have checked after receiving GURU Failureinfo the Log. I dont know why but
the DirectX 9 wasnt installed. So i just downloaded and installed it.
After restart i set the FBA as recommended here. Motion Blur and so on ...

Wohoooo !!!!

- No more flickering Shadows of the characters.
- No more flickering lifebars in Samurai Shodown 3 and 4.
- Also nice trancparents WIN Logo in Streetfighter Alpha 2 and 3.

This is how i call emulation close to real !

Thanks for your great support !!!


Kind regards.