Author Topic: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)  (Read 721077 times)

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #270 on: August 17, 2009, 12:41:26 AM »
Apparently I went brain dead for a second. So anyway, the aforementioned bug is now fixed.  The only bug that I know about (aside from the ones that are in MAME also), is that the title screen of s1945iii isn't 100% correct.


Offline Haze

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +47/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #271 on: August 17, 2009, 03:04:08 AM »
Apparently I went brain dead for a second. So anyway, the aforementioned bug is now fixed.  The only bug that I know about (aside from the ones that are in MAME also), is that the title screen of s1945iii isn't 100% correct.

It looks like you're not doing the variable blending effect on the clouds?  (each pen blends by a different amount, eg, pen 0 is 0% alpha, pen 1 is 1% alpha, pen 2 is 2% alpha etc.  It's documented in MAME)

The most subtle other blending effect is the one that turns the screen slightly blue when you use the bombs in 1945iii etc.  (It also causes the screen to tint slightly in Dragon Blaze etc.)  I can't tell if you have that covered from your screenshots.

I don't know why the 1945II title screen would look wrong, I don't remember anything special about it.

Also if you want to check your priority implementation some of the later levels in Space Bomber do some fairly funky priority mixing IIRC, likewise, Space Bomber is a good test to make sure that your animated backgrounds work (tilemap base select)

« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 04:05:05 AM by Haze »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #272 on: August 17, 2009, 01:39:15 PM »
I found the issue.  I had everything all hooked up to be alpha blended, but my blend routine was messed up from a debug feature I'd originally written (it was bitshifting everything 16 bits to the right, zeroing out the alpha value).  It's now fixed and everything looks good. :)

btw, thanks for the advice Haze. :)


Offline fosamax

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #273 on: August 17, 2009, 02:32:49 PM »
Amazing work iq !

Any chance to see all those new drivers added to fba xxx on the xbox or the sh2 is a bit too powerfull to be emulated by the xbox, especially in 720p ?

Anyway, keep up the good work !  :cool:

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #274 on: August 17, 2009, 03:22:46 PM »
Amazing work iq !

Any chance to see all those new drivers added to fba xxx on the xbox or the sh2 is a bit too powerfull to be emulated by the xbox, especially in 720p ?

Anyway, keep up the good work !  :cool:

Well, right now I've got the sh2 & ymf278b underclocked by 50% and am using some idle skipping to drop it down even further.  At this point most games (all of them except Daraku Tenshi) take 10-15% cpu (on a 1.8 c2d). Daraku Tenshi uses about 25-30% cpu.  I can probably knock a 1 or 2 more percentages off with some more optimizations and even more if I disable alpha blending [I think most games are playable without it].

Having said all that, I honestly still have no idea if any of the games will be playable on the xbox (I'd say it's a 50-50 chance [depending almost entirely on the speed of the vmm]) and probably about a 0% chance that Daraku Tenshi will be playable.

*edit*
One more thing, the games take ~214mb of ram. 196mb of that is graphics.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2009, 04:12:03 PM by iq_132 »


Offline fosamax

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #275 on: August 17, 2009, 03:37:45 PM »
Daraku is not really one of my favorite games.

I'm much more excited about shooters by psikyo and emulation on mameox (or any other based on mame 0.84) is not really good (lot of frameskipping that make all those game not really playable imho).

Fba xxx used to be faster for lots of games.

So you gave me my answer : wait and see !

Thanks iq.


Offline kenshiro

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #276 on: August 17, 2009, 05:32:02 PM »
*edit*
One more thing, the games take ~214mb of ram. 196mb of that is graphics.

Christ  :biggrin:

Offline Haze

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +47/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #277 on: August 18, 2009, 08:34:04 AM »
One more thing, the games take ~214mb of ram. 196mb of that is graphics.

I guess it's because you're decoding them all as 8bpp and 4bpp like MAME or similar?  That overhead could easily be moved to the rendering code.  Shouldn't really need more than the rom size in an optimized case.

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #278 on: August 18, 2009, 12:27:08 PM »
Yeah, that's what I'm doing.  Like I mentioned earlier, I haven't really mucked with the drawing routines yet. Been focusing on fixing stupid little bugs I introduced.


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #279 on: August 19, 2009, 04:57:40 AM »
Ugh. Almost done!!

Since my last post, I have:

Reduced the amount of ram most games take significantly.
Here's a list of how much ram each game takes (including 6mb for the fba executable).

~40mb - soldivid
~72mb - s1945iii
~56mb - sbomberb
~30mb - mjgtaste
~56mb - dragnblz
~31mb - gnbarich
~72mb - gunbird2
~68mb - tgm2 / tgm2p
~68mb - daraku
~48mb - s1945ii

I also cleaned, sped up the graphics routines a bit (not a lot), and fixed a few misc. bugs. :)

At this point, I'd say I'm pretty much done except for some misc. cleaning left to do here and there. :)
« Last Edit: August 19, 2009, 04:59:13 AM by iq_132 »


Offline nonete

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #280 on: August 19, 2009, 06:55:00 AM »
 ;p excellent work iq_132 and many intentions for that you continue working.

(Excuse my english, Is not too good)

Offline kenshiro

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #281 on: August 19, 2009, 06:56:17 AM »
Amazing iq :biggrin: can't wait to see it in action!

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #282 on: August 20, 2009, 02:45:46 AM »
Mostly done with psikyosh. :) As per Haze's suggestion, I decided to tackle psikyo sh2 version 4 hardware. :)

Only took me a couple of hours to get a rough driver together though probably going to take me a while to coax myself into adding / hooking up the mahjong inputs.





Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #283 on: August 20, 2009, 01:13:43 PM »
Added in the mahjong games. :)






« Last Edit: August 20, 2009, 01:28:06 PM by iq_132 »


Offline Haze

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +47/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #284 on: August 20, 2009, 03:05:07 PM »
If you have any colour problems with the Psikyo4 games the only real thing to remember is that the palettes can start on any boundary of 16 colours, even if they're 256 colour palettes.  A few scenes need that to look correctly.

If you are really bored and fancy figuring out how the Mahjong inputs work on G-Taste (the other hw) then that needs donig in MAME too, as right now I just hardcoded a default NVRAM set to Joystick ;-)