Author Topic: Need some help with my libretro port  (Read 47740 times)

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2015, 05:10:34 PM »
Also, i commited my changes to git.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2015, 06:16:03 AM »
So, no one knows why the graphics are messed up ?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5014
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2015, 09:19:33 AM »
Im not sure :(
Was anything in the driver changed besides the headers?

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2015, 10:36:19 AM »
Nothing

Offline Arcadez

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Arcade Addict
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #19 on: March 10, 2015, 12:56:27 PM »
A long shot probably but what platform are you running your build on?? reason i ask is with the xbox port of FBA we have some
problems with games that work on PC FBA not booting due to a lack of available memory the standard mem is 64mb....

Notice the games below they wont boot on the xbox but i used a dual launch method and although they now work you can
see the xbox is just short of enough mem to load the sprites correctly. Although there are xbox consoles that have been modified
to have 128mb mem and the games below work perfectly on those

Alien Challenge



Lord Of Gun



So was thinking maybe it's a similar problem with the sms driver in your build on the platform your running it on??

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2015, 01:16:27 PM »
That's on linux x86_64. I got the same on linux arm. Got this issue only on sms/gg games so i don't think it's related to memory.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5014
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #21 on: March 10, 2015, 05:57:41 PM »
I did some thinking, and perhaps its due to larger than 4 byte int's on a 64bit platform.
Can you try compiling a 32bit executable and see if it works?
Another thing to try (first), in smsrender.cpp, put #define ALIGN_DWORD 1 somewhere near the top.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Barry Harris

  • dontbeabarry
  • *
  • Posts: 1785
  • Karma: +0/-65535
  • I'm Barry Harris and I like to f*** people over
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #22 on: March 10, 2015, 06:00:16 PM »
I did some thinking, and perhaps its due to larger than 4 byte int's on a 64bit platform.
Can you try compiling a 32bit executable and see if it works?
Another thing to try (first), in smsrender.cpp, put #define ALIGN_DWORD 1 somewhere near the top.

best regards,
- dink

For what it's worth, SMS works fine in Windows 64-bit builds. The driver could do some with variable tidying up though. :)
Account of Barry Harris; the traitor.
Send me an e-mail at barry@fbalpha.com letting me know how big of a piece of sh** I am.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #23 on: March 10, 2015, 07:47:30 PM »
64bit issue, i thought i tried sms/gg on my rpi2 but i was mistaken. The core works fine on my rpi2 (which is arm, not arm64) but not on my 64bit linux desktop.

Offline Barry Harris

  • dontbeabarry
  • *
  • Posts: 1785
  • Karma: +0/-65535
  • I'm Barry Harris and I like to f*** people over
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2015, 08:10:43 PM »
64bit issue, i thought i tried sms/gg on my rpi2 but i was mistaken. The core works fine on my rpi2 (which is arm, not arm64) but not on my 64bit linux desktop.

The driver needs updating to support the defined types (INT8, UINT8, INT16, UINT16, etc.).

IIRC there are some *2s in there as well rather than sizeof(INT16) etc. which is very bad for compatibility.
Account of Barry Harris; the traitor.
Send me an e-mail at barry@fbalpha.com letting me know how big of a piece of sh** I am.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5014
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #25 on: March 11, 2015, 03:58:43 AM »
I went through and cleaned up all the variables, check the attachment for the updated files.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #26 on: March 11, 2015, 05:09:33 AM »
Thanks, everything seems to work fine now.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5014
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #27 on: March 11, 2015, 06:02:08 AM »
Glad to hear! :)
best regards,
- dink

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #28 on: March 20, 2015, 06:16:15 PM »
I found a new issue in my libretro port and was wondering if someone would be nice enough to help.
Here is the issue : Irem M72, M92 and M107 games work fine on my libretro/x86_64, but display a black screen on libretro/arm. I already tried other irem board, especially M90 which is quite similar to M72, and every games worked perfectly, so i'm pretty sure the issue is within d_m72.cpp, d_m92.cpp and d_m107.cpp . Seems to me like the BURN_ENDIAN_SWAP_INT16 not being inside a #ifndef LSB_FIRST in palette_write could be at fault, but i'm not really sure.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 06:23:17 PM by barbudreadmon »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3728
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Need some help with my libretro port
« Reply #29 on: March 20, 2015, 06:32:07 PM »
Are you getting sound with the black screen? like the game is playing, but black?