Author Topic: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports  (Read 239141 times)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #930 on: May 14, 2018, 10:36:00 pm »
Try using a real version of Arkanoid (arkanoid, arkanoidj, arkanoidu, arkatour), those are the only ones I worked on.  I'll check out the bootlegs though.  the bootlegs with mcu should be ok.

edit: later that day... fixed the issue with no-mcu bootlegs. 

Glad ya worked out the gberet issue :)

best regards,
- dink

I must be cursed or something with arkanoids, i picked a random version (arkgcbl), and ended up with the same "bad hardware" screen i had with arkatour on .42, except i get it later (after intro).

On a sidenote, the gberet issue was fixed (basically, the timings i computed for the libretro api were wrong because nBurnSoundRate/1000 was greater than nBurnFPS/100).
« Last Edit: May 14, 2018, 11:25:58 pm by dink »

Offline tmznix

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #931 on: May 23, 2018, 10:01:49 pm »
Hi !
First of all, thank you very much for this fantastic emulator!

I think I found a bug.
When I tried to load a particular game, "super speed race Junior (Japan)", FBA crashes. Rom name is ssrj.zip
It happends as soon as I click on the game's name. Before even trying to double click to start it.
Im using windows 64bits.

Hope it helps.
Cheers,

TMZ

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #932 on: May 23, 2018, 10:24:00 pm »
Hi tmznix,
Super Speed Race Junior is broken for now, it will be fixed in the next version of FBA.  Sorry about that!

best regards,
- dink

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #933 on: May 24, 2018, 12:52:46 am »
Hi tmznix,
this is a known issue, it afflicts the binary versions (32 and 64 bit), but not the XP binary version... as dink wrote, it will be fixed in the next FBA release! :)

Offline Bonky0013

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • FBA Fan
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #934 on: May 24, 2018, 08:47:54 am »
Hi ^^

In first, i want to thank you for all your work  :wink:

I don't know if those "bugs" are know issue, lot of time i do post it.
They're on Cps_1.

Captain commando : On the title screen appears, look on  I of CAPTAIN.

Chiki Chiki boys : The screen titles appears and disappears the time of one frame (i think).
Similar for the screens of the demo.


Not a bug, just an information ^^

For the B_18 PPU ID, i have see it's not matching mame on ctrl, pal ctrl and layers enable. (i have game converted on B_18 for my personnal use.).
I have looked on it because all my conversion are black screen :)

After created another B_18 (matching mame), my conversions works well, but i have break sf2ue and sfee (only this 2 games work on b_18)
Need more look for me on the code for understand ;) :)

Best Regards from france :)
And sorry for my limited english  :redface:
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 11:20:48 am by Bonky0013 »

Offline Treble Winner

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: +104/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • http://www.barryharris.me.uk
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #935 on: May 24, 2018, 09:26:40 am »
I can't see any issue?

Offline Bonky0013

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • FBA Fan
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #936 on: May 24, 2018, 11:18:20 am »
Hi Barry :)

Look on the picture, you can see just up to AI of captain the problem ;)
When the title appear.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #937 on: May 24, 2018, 04:53:43 pm »
Bonky0013, thanks.  chiki video glitches are fixed :)

re: captcomm
I can't reproduce this problem.  is the romset OK?  how about CPU speed - is it at 100%? (Game -> Reset CPU speed to 100%)
will you post your config/games/captcomm.ini file?

EDIT I found the problem!

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 05:51:17 pm by dink »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #938 on: May 24, 2018, 05:50:56 pm »
Bonky0013, problem with captcomm also fixed :) thanks!
note to others; the problem happens while the Captain Commando text is being displayed with a raster effect.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 05:58:51 pm by dink »

Offline Treble Winner

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: +104/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • http://www.barryharris.me.uk
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #939 on: May 25, 2018, 05:56:39 am »
Bonky0013, problem with captcomm also fixed :) thanks!
note to others; the problem happens while the Captain Commando text is being displayed with a raster effect.

best regards,
- dink

Did these bugs happen in older versions as well? The fixes are hacky at best and indicate a problem with our timing which probably needs further investigation. Especially if they worked fine in previous versions.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 08:09:06 am by dink »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #940 on: May 25, 2018, 08:16:39 am »
Treble Winner,
I've been wanting to fix the chiki one for ages, but forgot about it actually.  I verified that they both happen in past versions.  chiki since I've been with the project.  Captcomm always did the raster a bit wrong, but didn't write the weird character above until around the time of the new m68k core.  You probably didn't notice the problems because they only happen for a frame or 2 during raster effects (scroll register hackery) by the game.

chiki/captcomm actually run at 262 lines (which can be verified in the emulator encyclopedia aka MAME), having it at 259 previously was basically running vbl at the wrong line.  secondly, drawing after vblank is bad for any raster effect.
Explanation: after vbl and until line 16, the game prepares some the next scene / scroll registers / etc.  The reason for the glitches is simple, the game was drawing during the preparation of the next scene.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Bonky0013

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • FBA Fan
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #941 on: May 25, 2018, 08:19:10 am »
Hi ^^

Fixed so fast ^^
Thanks  :biggrin:


These two problems was very old  ;)

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Karma: +374/-0
  • Just a lion with a sword
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #942 on: May 25, 2018, 09:18:29 am »
Treble Winner,
I've been wanting to fix the chiki one for ages, but forgot about it actually.  I verified that they both happen in past versions.  chiki since I've been with the project.  Captcomm always did the raster a bit wrong, but didn't write the weird character above until around the time of the new m68k core.  You probably didn't notice the problems because they only happen for a frame or 2 during raster effects (scroll register hackery) by the game.

chiki/captcomm actually run at 262 lines (which can be verified in the emulator encyclopedia aka MAME), having it at 259 previously was basically running vbl at the wrong line.  secondly, drawing after vblank is bad for any raster effect.
Explanation: after vbl and until line 16, the game prepares some the next scene / scroll registers / etc.  The reason for the glitches is simple, the game was drawing during the preparation of the next scene.

best regards,
- dink

Can confirm:
MCFG_SCREEN_RAW_PARAMS(XTAL(16000000)/2, 512, 64, 448, 262, 16, 240)

That should also put our fps to 59.637404580152671755725190839695 hz ^^
(1600000/2/512/262)


Offline Treble Winner

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: +104/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • http://www.barryharris.me.uk
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #943 on: May 27, 2018, 03:57:00 pm »
Megadrive Streets of Rage level 3.

Corruoption of tiles at the left hand side of screen.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2619
  • Karma: +224/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #944 on: May 27, 2018, 07:27:15 pm »
Megadrive Streets of Rage level 3.

Corruoption of tiles at the left hand side of screen.

Fixed, thanks for the report & state! :)

best regards,
- dink