Author Topic: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports  (Read 247314 times)

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 297
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • lr-fbalpha developer
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1005 on: September 25, 2018, 11:30:35 am »
Thanks :)

Offline saitoh00

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1006 on: September 26, 2018, 09:29:00 am »
In super sidekicks 2, the floor are and it looks fuzzy.

This happen with mvs configuration and the last bios

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2679
  • Karma: +227/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1007 on: September 26, 2018, 09:54:33 pm »
Hi, this game is really like this :(  It's not a bug in emulation.
edit: oops, it seems I overlooked something, it is a bit worse in fba than mame.  I'll see what can be done.

best regards,
- dink

In super sidekicks 2, the floor are and it looks fuzzy.

This happen with mvs configuration and the last bios
« Last Edit: September 27, 2018, 07:45:14 am by dink »

Offline Treble Winner

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1814
  • Karma: +105/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • http://www.barryharris.me.uk
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1008 on: September 27, 2018, 08:04:19 am »
This, in neo_run.cpp may be worth a look first;

Code: [Select]
// if (!strcmp(BurnDrvGetTextA(DRV_NAME), "ssideki2")) {
// bRenderLineByLine = true;
// }

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2679
  • Karma: +227/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1009 on: September 27, 2018, 08:27:01 am »
Treble Winner, Unfortunately that makes no difference.  I found another way though.

Offline Tatsuya79

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1010 on: October 05, 2018, 08:08:19 pm »
Tiles priority issue at the end of Gradius II - GOFER no Yabou (Japan New ver.).

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2679
  • Karma: +227/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1011 on: October 05, 2018, 10:20:58 pm »
Tatsuya79, thanks for the report!
Can you please send me a savestate for this game ending?  If you have one, right before this screen appears is preferred.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1012 on: October 06, 2018, 04:24:54 am »
@Tatsuya79: as dink wrote, a savestate (just before the game ending screen appears) will be very useful... :)
If I'm not wrong, Gradius 2 Japanese release hasn't the continue option and finish the game isn't an easy task! (I suck with the shoot'em ups! :P )

Offline Tatsuya79

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1013 on: October 06, 2018, 05:17:44 am »
The one I got is from retroarch, which isn't compatible with fba stand-alone it seems.
Attaching it anyway.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 297
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • lr-fbalpha developer
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1014 on: October 06, 2018, 05:23:55 am »
Btw, savestates in the libretro port are only the result of the BurnAreaScan call (no deflate applied), reason for this being performance (we are using savestates for netplay, the no input lag thingy called "read ahead", and the rewind feature which i guess helped a lot to finish this game ?). Knowing this, i hope it's somehow possible to convert them ?

Offline Tatsuya79

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1015 on: October 06, 2018, 05:26:58 am »
A different one that should be easier to check:
Wardner is running at 60hz while it is at 54.877858Hz in MAME.

Also games on the Burger Time Data East machine are at 60 instead of 57.444853Hz.
Tested with Burger Time and Burnin' Rubber.
Same for Break Thru.
Same for games on Deco casette System it seems (tested Lock'n'Chase and Super Astro Fighter).
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 06:37:19 am by Tatsuya79 »

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 297
  • Karma: +9/-0
  • lr-fbalpha developer
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1016 on: October 06, 2018, 07:00:54 am »
Wardner is running at 60hz while it is at 54.877858Hz in MAME.

Yes, most likely the value at https://github.com/libretro/fbalpha/blob/4b5c569447dd245995e7d071787d5083dd7322c1/src/burn/drv/toaplan/d_wardner.cpp#L997 is wrong, is that supposed to be
Code: [Select]
INT32 nCyclesTotal[3] = { 5487785.8 / 60, 3500000 / 60, 14000000 / 60 };
?

If so, i can probably take care of those kind of issues and send the diff to dink later.

Edit : i did some tests and i guess it is trickier than this...
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 08:32:37 am by barbudreadmon »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2679
  • Karma: +227/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1017 on: October 06, 2018, 09:04:33 am »
The office of internal FBA affairs (aka Gab75) is taking care of replaying gradius II to get me a state.  :)

Regarding the hz: leaving some games at 60hz was intentional on my part.  Also, iq_132 leaves some games at 60hz also, for either the same or different reason than me.  Is this a big deal?  if it is, I'll change them, but probably a good 80% of the drivers run at a solid 60hz which means a lot of dull work...

best regards,
- dink

Offline Tatsuya79

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1018 on: October 06, 2018, 09:17:47 am »
Well, it's about having the games at their right speed.
I can understand you'd want it to be in sync with standard screens but as variable refresh gets more popular...

There's no throttling options to change the game speed to the monitor refresh in FBA?
I see "force 60hz refresh rate" in the video menu.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2679
  • Karma: +227/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: FB Alpha 0.2.97.43 Bug Reports
« Reply #1019 on: October 06, 2018, 09:26:20 am »
Can't argue with that - I sent barbudreadmon a refreshrate patch with the changes for those games, :)

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 09:37:22 am by dink »