Author Topic: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread  (Read 216603 times)

Offline kev

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1575 on: April 14, 2019, 08:46:44 am »
Here's a new debug exe with the finished spyhunter/rampage driver!
enjoy guys!! :)

file link: https://www.sendspace.com/file/gawe1y

best regards,
- dink

I'm also a big fan of Spy Hunter. This build is amazing! Great works as usual!

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1576 on: April 14, 2019, 10:41:14 pm »
Thanks guys! :)

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1577 on: April 14, 2019, 11:00:23 pm »
Emulated Rampage has an even worse problem than spyhunter.  While booting up, it holds the dac at +fullDC for 2 seconds.   I feel my soundcard/headphones' pain.

Added some muting logic and a dc-blocking filter to clean things up nicely, and get a perfect audioform.  Below are before/after pictures of Rampage booting up and insert coin at the title screen.  Of course, other emulations of Rampage output the same bad waveform.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: April 14, 2019, 11:03:20 pm by dink »

Offline gxb

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1578 on: April 18, 2019, 04:40:28 am »
@dink Can you run "Shinsetsu Samurai Spirits - Bushidou Retsuden (Japan)" correctly with your lastest build? I compiled one on Apr 5. The game ran well until title screen. When I chose start game, there poped up an IO error about CD loading in game. Could that cause by fast loading codes?

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1579 on: April 18, 2019, 09:58:52 am »
gxb, that was actually just fixed the other day, big thanks to barbudreadmon.  I'll post a new exe in sometime today :)

best regards,
- dink

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1580 on: April 18, 2019, 10:49:39 am »
Updated fba exe, for friends and fans of FBAlpha!

what's new:
x combat school crash bug fixed
x ssrpg fix from barbudreadmon
x rampage arcade "nice" sound
PM me if you find the easter-egg in this exe :) (to let people play along, don't post about it here)

best regards,
- dink

Offline kev

  • FBA Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1581 on: April 18, 2019, 11:24:42 am »
Really like the Rampage sound :)

For some reason, Star wars crashes in this build on my PC but works in the last build I did, and the last one you did... Does it do that for you or is it my PC?

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +21/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1582 on: April 18, 2019, 01:54:17 pm »
For some reason, Star wars crashes in this build on my PC but works in the last build I did, and the last one you did... Does it do that for you or is it my PC?

I tested all three Star Wars releases (rev 1 and set 2 and 3) and all of them work without issues (my OS is Windows 10 64 bit Home Edition)

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1583 on: April 18, 2019, 06:46:26 pm »
Really like the Rampage sound :)

For some reason, Star wars crashes in this build on my PC but works in the last build I did, and the last one you did... Does it do that for you or is it my PC?

Hi Kev,
nice, I'm glad you dig it :)  Fortunately the Rampage soundfix only took a little while compared to the spy hunter fix.

Regarding Star Wars crashing - that sucks! :(
Can you please give me the crash address from the guru meditation window? (like c000000053:0000fa313)

best regards,
- dink

Offline gxb

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1584 on: April 19, 2019, 03:55:58 am »
gxb, that was actually just fixed the other day, big thanks to barbudreadmon.  I'll post a new exe in sometime today :)

best regards,
- dink
Thank you. Just noticed it.

Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1585 on: April 19, 2019, 04:13:11 am »
I m not sure if this bug is already known...

Gun Force 1 ARCADE

When starting screen should appear it immediately turn black without any ongoing process.
So if you hit the coin button you?ll recognize the count of credits. Screen will be still black.
If you wanna play just press start. Game is full playable without any problem.
It is just the titel screen which aint visible.

<<< NEO GEO CD >>>

- Viewpoint After Loading Controls are not working.
  I remapped Stick a couple times. Not able to control or start game

- Last Resort same Issue

And how to enter the Setup Menu for Games ( Blood Metal Slug etc )

« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 06:14:25 am by Fulg0re »

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1586 on: April 19, 2019, 07:58:30 am »
Fulg0re,
Thanks for bug the report.
Some good news: gunforce 1 was fixed the other day, please use my test exe (few messages above this one) for the fix.

Also viewpoint & last resort ngcd works fine here, please also try the latest exe :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1587 on: April 19, 2019, 09:58:40 am »
Hi Dink,


check !

Gun Force with latest Exe is working witouh any failure. Tested it.

For the 2 Neo Geo CD Games i figured out what was wrong.
The main difference between AES and CD Rom ist that on AES you hear / recognize a
jingle after hitting the Coin Button. On CDZ you dont. So if playing Viewpoint and Last
Resort just hit the coin Button than it is no problem to start game and take control of it !

Thats all so far... gonna test my other games.

BTW: What about the F2 Service Menue from NEO GEO AES ... is it also able to navigate to the
menu on the CDZ ? If yes how  ? F2 dont work
« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 10:16:03 am by Fulg0re »

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2804
  • Karma: +238/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1588 on: April 19, 2019, 06:53:21 pm »
Hi Fulg0re,
Neogeo CD games run in AES-like mode, which is the console (not arcade) version.  It means there are no coin inputs for these games :)

NeoCD menu: press the first 2 buttons when you see the animating cd, it will bring you to a cd player(it only somewhat works) and cdz-internal memory card manipulation menu.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: dink's FBA Development & Fixes thread
« Reply #1589 on: April 20, 2019, 12:57:31 pm »
Hi there

just some small issues or requests...

1.)

Breakers AES sometimes switch symbol from working to non working rom but u can
play and run game all the time... Just a cosmetic stuff....

2.)

On latest FBA EXE it aint possible to play Jojo Bizzare Adventure and Jojo Venture
thats too bad cause it is a great funny game :)

Edit.
I finally found lots of files and built a custom set from
both games which are running in all versions on current
FBA exe. The problem is that lots of files and version are filled with mixed dataset.

Thats all for now ... CU L8tr
« Last Edit: April 20, 2019, 03:01:14 pm by Fulg0re »