Author Topic: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)  (Read 33716 times)

Offline CaptainCPS

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1513
  • Karma: +127/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • CaptainCPS's Home
FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« on: May 15, 2007, 05:00:32 PM »
Well I just decided to release the most stable Source + Binary of FB Alpha with NeoGeo CD support, I have to thank IQ_132 because he is the one who started porting the code from NEOCD/ SDL and other few open source NeoGeo CD emus. The CDDA code I implemented is working fine 'afaik' in the MinGW build, ...have to say that the VC build which includes support for the Experimental DirectX9 Blitter is working but it freezes sometimes when is starting the CD drive, in my time checking I found out that this is probably due to some stuff in the SDL libs for VC, since SDL libs for MinGW are working fine.

SDL is used in these builds but, SDL.dll is NOT needed in the FBA root directory  :smilie:.

For those who compile their own builds, you must have the SDL libs, there are two packs, the MinGW libs, and the VC libs and they can be found in the SDL official site. If someone have probs when compiling or setting up the environment please let me know so I can help you.

Note: The only thing I didn't fix when I ported the code from the one IQ sent me was the NeoGeo CD main screen not appearing when there is no disc, I dont know why, maybe is because there is another CD check via SDL, if someone can check that issue it would be really appreciated.

NeoGeo CD - Metal Slug (Main Title)



Download the files right here (Unicode builds only):

fba_src_029671_ngcd.7z [~1.22MB]

fba_mingw_bin_029671_ngcd.7z [~1.04MB]

fba_vc_bin_029671_ngcd.7z [~1.25MB]

SeeYaa!
:biggrin:


« Last Edit: May 15, 2007, 05:02:20 PM by CaptainCPS-X »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 05:57:00 PM »
Nice work Cap! I did notice one thing, it does, in fact, require sdl.dll for me.  (mingw build)

oh, btw, please note that while the Assembly 68k Cpu core does function for NeoCD, it's not
extensively tested and probably will cause some bugs.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2007, 05:59:02 PM by iq_132 »


Offline CaptainCPS

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1513
  • Karma: +127/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • CaptainCPS's Home
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2007, 07:43:24 PM »
Oopps!! You're right IQ ^^u , the SDL.DLL is needed for both builds and must be placed in the root dir where fba.exe is located.

I've tested the builds on my other PC and there it gave me the SDL.DLL message, maybe here it doesn't show me the error because it find the sdl.dll in other place  :p.

SeeYaa!
 :biggrin:

Offline lxd_bruce

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2007, 10:24:54 PM »
How to use this to play NeoCD Games?

because I can't find any command to load NeoCD Iso/CD :confused:

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2007, 10:39:43 PM »
You need the bios file for the neocd and then just run Neo Geo CD from the game select menu.


Offline lxd_bruce

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2007, 11:33:27 PM »
THX IQ  :cool:

But I find another problem. There is no sound effect :confused:

Offline CaptainCPS

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1513
  • Karma: +127/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • CaptainCPS's Home
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 12:34:13 AM »
THX IQ  :cool:

But I find another problem. There is no sound effect :confused:

I mentioned it here...

http://neo-source.com/index.php?topic=571.msg5783#msg5783

, and to clear things, this build of FBA with support of NeoGeo CD doesn't emulate it 100%, that means there may be, bad GFX or bad FX Sounds in some games, its a WIP version and for now this is the best IQ and I could do, maybe Treble Winner, KEV or Jan can take a look to what needs fixing in the code, that btw I think most of the problems are related to Memory Mapping and the Memory Map Handlers, but Im not sure so I cant say it is because of those mentioned stuff.

@IQ_132: Now that I mentioned it here, I tried changing the following in 'neocdInit()'...

Quote
   if (nRet == 0) {

      SekMapHandler(4,  0xE00000, 0xFFFFFF, SM_WRITE);
      SekSetWriteWordHandler(4,       neocdWriteWord);
      SekSetWriteByteHandler(4,       neocdWriteByte);

      SekMapHandler(4,  0xE00000, 0xFFFFFF,  SM_READ);
      SekSetReadWordHandler(4,         neocdReadWord);
      SekSetReadByteHandler(4,         neocdReadByte);
   }


to this...

Quote
   if (nRet == 0) {

      SekMapHandler(4,  0x200000, 0x2FFFFF, SM_WRITE);
      SekSetWriteWordHandler(4,       neocdWriteWord);
      SekSetWriteByteHandler(4,       neocdWriteByte);

      SekMapHandler(4,  0x200000, 0x2FFFFF,  SM_READ);
      SekSetReadWordHandler(4,         neocdReadWord);
      SekSetReadByteHandler(4,         neocdReadByte);
   }


...and the FX sounds now play fine in Mslug1, 2 and Aero Fighters 2 (AF2 was not playing any FX sound and with the changes it does  :p), but then King of Fighter's are not working fine , and Mslug 1, 2 present GFX problems...thats why I think Memory Mapping and Handlers have to to with sound issues and GFX issues too.

IQ, Do you think this could be true?, I mean that GFX and FX sounds problems are related to what I mentioned?

SeeYaa!
 :biggrin:
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 12:37:11 AM by CaptainCPS-X »

Offline lxd_bruce

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 12:34:37 AM »
 :redface:
another problem: last blade 2 can't be emulated.

Offline Barry Harris

  • dontbeabarry
  • *
  • Posts: 1785
  • Karma: +0/-65535
  • I'm Barry Harris and I like to f*** people over
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 02:01:08 AM »
One is probably a mirror? Try using this and seeing what happens.

Code: [Select]
if (nRet == 0) {
      SekMapHandler(4,  0x200000, 0x2FFFFF, SM_RAM);
      SekSetWriteWordHandler(4,       neocdWriteWord);
      SekSetWriteByteHandler(4,       neocdWriteByte);
      SekSetReadWordHandler(4,         neocdReadWord);
      SekSetReadByteHandler(4,         neocdReadByte);

      SekMapHandler(5,  0xE00000, 0xFFFFFF, SM_RAM);
      SekSetWriteWordHandler(5,       neocdWriteWord);
      SekSetWriteByteHandler(5,       neocdWriteByte);
      SekSetReadWordHandler(5,         neocdReadWord);
      SekSetReadByteHandler(5,         neocdReadByte);
}
Account of Barry Harris; the traitor.
Send me an e-mail at barry@fbalpha.com letting me know how big of a piece of sh** I am.

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2007, 06:40:23 AM »
In any of the emulators I've seen the source for, none of them have a mirror located there. :S


Offline KingHanco

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Karma: +0/-4
  • "Special " Member
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2007, 08:24:52 AM »
View Point isn't playable and the speed is lagging. Use 50% of computer speed on the option to have normal speed. It might be an hack that I have. Jan said it probably bad anyway because the size.

Metal Slug have an cutting out sounds effects issue. I didn't mess with the mp3 tracks because it didn't come with a converter bat file. Also there wasn't a cue file with those. So I pass on this one. It probably bad too.

Jan told me that those dumps will not be 100% perfect.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 08:27:22 AM by KingHanco »

Offline KOF2112

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 187
  • Karma: +14/-4
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2007, 11:08:33 AM »
 :biggrin:
Thank CaptainCPS-X

NEO CD game does not have the background sound
 :confused:
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 11:18:33 AM by KOF2112 »

Offline CaptainCPS

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1513
  • Karma: +127/-0
  • FB Alpha Team
    • CaptainCPS's Home
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2007, 11:29:46 AM »
View Point isn't playable and the speed is lagging. Use 50% of computer speed on the option to have normal speed. It might be an hack that I have. Jan said it probably bad anyway because the size.

Metal Slug have an cutting out sounds effects issue. I didn't mess with the mp3 tracks because it didn't come with a converter bat file. Also there wasn't a cue file with those. So I pass on this one. It probably bad too.

Jan told me that those dumps will not be 100% perfect.

The current FX sound problems are not related with the ROMs / Dumps, those problems are because of the way emulation is done, If the dump were bad they would not play fine in the other emulators  :rolleyes:,  please understand that this version of FBA with NeoGeo CD is WIP.

Btw, have you tried other NeoGeo CD emulators?... did you know that Sound FX like gunshots, explosions, etc...have nothing to do with the CDDA and audio tracks?

Quote
Metal Slug have an cutting out sounds effects issue. I didn't mess with the mp3 tracks because it didn't come with a converter bat file. Also there wasn't a cue file with those. So I pass on this one. It probably bad too.

You will not find any ROMs with a BAT converter, since a BAT is a text file with commands for some program to do something, like renaming, copying, deleting, etc..and MP3s cant be converted that way, you have to use an utility like 'Nero Burning ROM' to convert them to WAV, then to make the .CUE files there is a utility on the net called 'Sega Cue Maker'...(CUE files are not always inside the ROMs package, depending where you get the ROMs)

Quote
Sega Cue Maker (c) 2000 by Lodger

This is a little util that makes cue sheets for Sega Saturn / SegaCD CD's from
.iso/.raw/.wavs/.mp3s.  Just run the .exe and select the directory containing
the iso and audio files by double clicking on the folder (Note: the .wavs/.mp3s
names must be in the same order alphabetically as the order they appeared on the
disc).  Click on 'Generate Cue' to make the cue sheet, it will be displayed in
the text box.  Then click 'Save Cue' and type in the name you want to call it.

The utility was intended for Sega Saturn but CUE files are text files and it doesn't matter if you make them by hand with notepad or with this utility, I use this because its fast and easy.

SeeYaa!
 :biggrin:
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 11:46:03 AM by CaptainCPS-X »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2007, 06:05:46 PM »
View Point isn't playable and the speed is lagging. Use 50% of computer speed on the option to have normal speed. It might be an hack that I have. Jan said it probably bad anyway because the size.

Yes. There are lots and lots and lots of games that don't work.  Duh.
Quote
Metal Slug have an cutting out sounds effects issue. I didn't mess with the mp3 tracks because it didn't come with a converter bat file. Also there wasn't a cue file with those. So I pass on this one. It probably bad too.
I know you are incapable of reading, but give it a try.  This has been mentioned in this very thread.
Quote
those dumps will not be 100% perfect.
Whichever way you look at it, the only true, 100% perfect option is to buy an original disc.  So instead of bitching about mp3 + iso not being 100% perfect, why don't you just look at it this way "you get what you pay for."


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FB Alpha v0.2.96.71 (with Neo-Geo CD)
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2007, 07:07:08 PM »
hey cap, I was looking at your source a bit (haven't gotten around to compiling it yet...


   if (cdrom_process_ipl())   // Process IPL.TXT
   {
>>      int neogeoReset();
>>      neogeoReset();

try removing those and see if the bios runs.