Author Topic: Why recording feature does not work in some games?  (Read 368 times)

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« on: January 16, 2023, 11:19:12 AM »
Some shooting games (shmups) and some Neo-Geo games recording is not correct (despite the recording file being at the right time). Why does it happen?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2023, 02:03:00 PM by didigo182 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2023, 06:11:16 PM »
Hi,
First, make sure you have the absolute latest version of fbneo, from here:
https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo/releases/tag/latest

Please tell me the games that have problems with recording, and I will fix them, but I need some info:
For example:
1: game / rom name
2: any thing special that caused recording to fail, such as savestates or rewind
3: how long did you play the game until the recording failed
..or any other info you think will help! :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2023, 04:30:53 PM »
Hi,
First, make sure you have the absolute latest version of fbneo, from here:
https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo/releases/tag/latest

Please tell me the games that have problems with recording, and I will fix them, but I need some info:
For example:
1: game / rom name
2: any thing special that caused recording to fail, such as savestates or rewind
3: how long did you play the game until the recording failed
..or any other info you think will help! :)

best regards,
- dink

Thanks for the response and interest in resolving the issue.

1) Basically any "shmup" especially Korean ones. I tried to play Popeye (Longplay lasts about 6 minutes only) didn't work either (it worked up to a point but then the Game Over screen came up).

2) I don't remember anything different.

3) I played the game until the end.

Taking advantage of the topic (if not bother you), could you tell me how I can enter the Neo-Geo BIOS and change the difficulty? (From Level 4 to Level eight) are the BIOS options you access when you enter the game. I use Universe BIOS v3.2.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2023, 04:32:46 PM by didigo182 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2023, 05:09:37 PM »
Thanks, I'll take a look at Popeye.
Could you please tell me the specific games that failed with recording, because I've recorded dozens of different stg's and they played back fine.

For NeoGeo settings, take for instance: Alpha Mission II / ASO II: press F2, select "Setting Up the Soft DIP" then "Slot 1  Alpha Mission 2", then the settings can be changed. 

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2023, 09:31:30 AM »
Popeye, dooyong (mixed z80, 68k shooters), suna8 (starfig), dreamwld (baryon) have been fixed in the main windows ui build of fbneo

best regards,
- dink

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2023, 06:43:47 PM »
Thanks, I'll take a look at Popeye.
Could you please tell me the specific games that failed with recording, because I've recorded dozens of different stg's and they played back fine.

For NeoGeo settings, take for instance: Alpha Mission II / ASO II: press F2, select "Setting Up the Soft DIP" then "Slot 1  Alpha Mission 2", then the settings can be changed. 

best regards,
- dink

Another one: Silver Millennium (Korean Shmup). I completed but the recording fails too.

Thanks for the reply.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2023, 08:37:58 PM »
Another one: Silver Millennium (Korean Shmup). I completed but the recording fails too.

Thanks for the reply.

Silver Millennium has also been fixed, thanks for letting me know!

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2023, 11:54:02 AM »
Hi again,
I did sync fixes for the following drivers last night:
d_gstream.cpp, (g-stream 2020)
d_hyprduel.cpp, (hyper dual)
d_legionna.cpp (heated barrel, legionnaire)
d_macrossp.cpp (macross plus)
d_mcatadv.cpp (Nostradamus)
d_sandscrp.cpp (Sand Scorpion)
d_seibuspi.cpp (Raiden Fighters / Jet / etc)
d_ssv.cpp (storm blade, ultra x weapons, change air blade, twin eagle 2, dyna gear, vasara 1 & 2)
d_vamphalf.cpp (wyvern wings, vamf 1/2, boonga O.o )
d_x2222.cpp ( x2222 )

best regards,
- dink


best regards,
- dink

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2023, 03:04:20 PM »
Hi again,
I did sync fixes for the following drivers last night:
d_gstream.cpp, (g-stream 2020)
d_hyprduel.cpp, (hyper dual)
d_legionna.cpp (heated barrel, legionnaire)
d_macrossp.cpp (macross plus)
d_mcatadv.cpp (Nostradamus)
d_sandscrp.cpp (Sand Scorpion)
d_seibuspi.cpp (Raiden Fighters / Jet / etc)
d_ssv.cpp (storm blade, ultra x weapons, change air blade, twin eagle 2, dyna gear, vasara 1 & 2)
d_vamphalf.cpp (wyvern wings, vamf 1/2, boonga O.o )
d_x2222.cpp ( x2222 )

best regards,
- dink


best regards,
- dink

How can i apply these Fixes?

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2023, 03:14:38 PM »
Thanks, I'll take a look at Popeye.
Could you please tell me the specific games that failed with recording, because I've recorded dozens of different stg's and they played back fine.

For NeoGeo settings, take for instance: Alpha Mission II / ASO II: press F2, select "Setting Up the Soft DIP" then "Slot 1  Alpha Mission 2", then the settings can be changed. 

best regards,
- dink

Thank you very much! I managed to solve the difficulty selection problem.

But could you tell me:

1) How do I show the "Level" and "Player" on the screen? I managed to delete it before and now I want it back.
2) Is there a way to make "Level Eight" for all games by default? Or do I need to set each game individually?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2023, 08:41:06 PM »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4747
  • Karma: +418/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2023, 08:44:25 PM »
Thank you very much! I managed to solve the difficulty selection problem.

But could you tell me:

1) How do I show the "Level" and "Player" on the screen? I managed to delete it before and now I want it back.
2) Is there a way to make "Level Eight" for all games by default? Or do I need to set each game individually?


You're welcome!

Hmm, delete config/games/romname.fs to go back to default and then re-do the changes is your best bet
You'll have to set each game, because each game uses different settings

best regards,
- dink

Offline didigo182

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Why recording feature does not work in some games?
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2023, 03:06:58 PM »

You're welcome!

Hmm, delete config/games/romname.fs to go back to default and then re-do the changes is your best bet
You'll have to set each game, because each game uses different settings

best regards,
- dink

Thank you very much my friend!  :cool: