Author Topic: it takes a long time to run fbn and mame [SOLVED]  (Read 662 times)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4535
  • Karma: +397/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #15 on: February 14, 2022, 08:50:12 PM »
Did you try to disable real-time protection in Windows Defender?

Offline hayashik

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #16 on: February 14, 2022, 10:07:56 PM »
I've tried disable real-time protection in Windows Defender, but it didn't work too.

Just upload, maight have to wait a couple minutes to watch them in HQ

https://youtu.be/srHYqTs1vQc

https://youtu.be/gpUUOgGmtuY

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4535
  • Karma: +397/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #17 on: February 14, 2022, 11:20:36 PM »
Hi,
It appears to be hanging while enumerating the directinput devices.
From what I've found so far, some keyboards cause this problem, and also some usb headsets cause this problem.

Try unplugging usb devices including keyboard, and try it until you find which one is the problem. 

Sometimes moving the usb device to another port might help, and sometimes upgrading their drivers might help.  If you can find which device exactly, then we can do some research how to deal with it.

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4535
  • Karma: +397/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #18 on: February 14, 2022, 11:25:50 PM »
Here's some info I found on stackoverflow:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/10967795/directinput8-enumdevices-sometimes-painfully-slow

Scroll down to the "7 Answers" part. They talk about different devices that cause this problem, perhaps you have one of them?

best regards,
- dink

Offline hayashik

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2022, 02:00:23 AM »
The mystery solved!

The USB device that causes this issue is my monitor (FI32U).

Unplugging it does the trick. FBN and MAME are working great now.

You guys are livesavers!

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4535
  • Karma: +397/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn
« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2022, 09:32:02 AM »
hayashik, that's great news, always glad to help! :)

I think it might be helpful to others if you leave the videos that you made on youtube, what do you think?

best regards,
- dink

Offline hayashik

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: it takes a long time to run fbn and mame [SOLVED]
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2022, 01:45:14 AM »
dink, That's out of question, I'll leave the videos on my youtube!