Author Topic: Fullscreen Issues  (Read 379 times)

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Fullscreen Issues
« on: February 04, 2021, 08:18:16 AM »
I can't get fullscreen to work properly on any other Blitter option than Basic. The other 3 options either give me an error, a static screen with a frozen image or a blinking screen. This is driving me nuts as I've tried changing every setting that's possible and nothing works.

Specs are as follows:

-4k tv
-3080 GPU
-10700k CPU

I can't be the only one having these issues as the same problems happened even on Final Burn Alpha with a different GPU and CPU. The only thing the same is the 4k tv.

Any help getting this resolved is greatly appreciated.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4216
  • Karma: +352/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2021, 09:34:14 AM »
What is the resolution of your monitor, it could be something we havn't encountered?

Try these for now:
Video -> Fullscreen Bitdepth, choose 32bit
Video -> Monitor Properties -> Automatically detect fullscreen resolution and aspect

Do you have the Direct-X end user runtimes (june 2010) installed?  If not, grab here:
https://download.cnet.com/Microsoft-DirectX-Redistributable-June-2010/3000-2121_4-10176490.html
or
https://web.archive.org/web/20201222153432/https://download.microsoft.com/download/8/4/A/84A35BF1-DAFE-4AE8-82AF-AD2AE20B6B14/directx_Jun2010_redist.exe

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: February 04, 2021, 09:47:10 AM by dink »

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2021, 10:47:20 AM »
What is the resolution of your monitor, it could be something we havn't encountered?

Try these for now:
Video -> Fullscreen Bitdepth, choose 32bit
Video -> Monitor Properties -> Automatically detect fullscreen resolution and aspect

Do you have the Direct-X end user runtimes (june 2010) installed?  If not, grab here:
https://download.cnet.com/Microsoft-DirectX-Redistributable-June-2010/3000-2121_4-10176490.html
or
https://web.archive.org/web/20201222153432/https://download.microsoft.com/download/8/4/A/84A35BF1-DAFE-4AE8-82AF-AD2AE20B6B14/directx_Jun2010_redist.exe

best regards,
- dink
As I listed in my specs it's a 4k tv. But no matter what resolution I pick, fullscreen will still not work properly.
Already have the Directx Jun 10 package. I've tried using "Automatically detect fullscreen resolution and aspect" it doesn't fix the issue.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2021, 10:48:34 AM by lantern48 »

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
  • Karma: +32/-1
  • Helper
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2021, 10:57:46 AM »
Just making sure here, you are using our official builds from https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo-WIP-Storage-Facility/releases/tag/appveyor-build ?

I have a 4k screen but never encountered that issue.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4216
  • Karma: +352/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2021, 11:04:19 AM »
So, what is the x / y resolution of your 4k tv?  I've never encountered one before.  Maybe the system doesn't know about this resolution, it was written before they were around.

best regards,
- dink

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2021, 11:08:04 AM »
So, what is the x / y resolution of your 4k tv?  I've never encountered one before.  Maybe the system doesn't know about this resolution, it was written before they were around.

best regards,
- dink
3840 x 2160

It shows that in the options so it's accounted for.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
  • Karma: +32/-1
  • Helper
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2021, 02:15:16 PM »
I tested again with all blitters, with both 1080p and 4k resolution, and can't reproduce this behavior at all (only issue i encountered was with enhanced blitter + 4k resolution, directx somehow totally stopped working and even asked me to install the june 2010 runtime, which is already installed), so i'll ask again : are you sure you are using our official builds from https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo-WIP-Storage-Facility/releases/tag/appveyor-build ?

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2021, 02:24:05 PM »
I tested again with all blitters, with both 1080p and 4k resolution, and can't reproduce this behavior at all (only issue i encountered was with enhanced blitter + 4k resolution, directx somehow totally stopped working and even asked me to install the june 2010 runtime, which is already installed), so i'll ask again : are you sure you are using our official builds from https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo-WIP-Storage-Facility/releases/tag/appveyor-build ?
I never said I was using those builds at all. There's only 32bit and XP builds - no 64bit build. That's what I'm using from EMUCR.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
  • Karma: +32/-1
  • Helper
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2021, 02:27:39 PM »
Ok, that explains it all, use our official builds and it'll work (well, apart from 4k + enhanced). Actually we don't provide 64-bits builds because they don't work properly.

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2021, 02:32:22 PM »
Ok, that explains it all, use our official builds and it'll work (well, apart from 4k + enhanced). Actually we don't provide 64-bits builds because they don't work properly.
Any plans to get 64 working?

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
  • Karma: +32/-1
  • Helper
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2021, 03:07:09 PM »
Any plans to get 64 working?

That's certainly not a priority, since there is literally no benefits from running an app like FBNeo in 64bits

Offline lantern48

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2021, 03:26:29 PM »
That's certainly not a priority, since there is literally no benefits from running an app like FBNeo in 64bits
Weird. I wonder why there's 64bit builds being made then? And have been for at least 3-years that I can remember.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 784
  • Karma: +32/-1
  • Helper
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2021, 04:27:01 PM »
Weird. I wonder why there's 64bit builds being made then? And have been for at least 3-years that I can remember.

Nothing weird here, people think that because it can be built, it will work properly. We said many times to not use 64bits builds because they are broken though.

Offline geese howard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2021, 11:23:20 AM »
...there is literally no benefits from running an app like FBNeo in 64bits
Really?? I was compiling latest builds thinking of performance gains...
« Last Edit: February 05, 2021, 11:56:00 AM by geese howard »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4216
  • Karma: +352/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Fullscreen Issues
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2021, 12:02:27 PM »
There's no performance gains with the x64 version over the x32 version.
The only advantage to using the 64bit version is more bugs and lack of "Enhanced" blitter.
Also, never trust outside exe's unless you absolutely trust the source/person compiling it.  I know, it's common sense these days, but, I have to mention it just in-case :)

  how to test 32bit version vs. 64bit version:

The NES emulator in fbneo is pixel-accurate, so its a slightly heavy on cpu - and makes a good testcase.  load up castlevania iii - dracula's curse
press backspace once to show FPS
hold F1 (FFWD) for about 10 seconds and note the maximal fps value you get.

now do the same with the 32bit version.

I get 90fps on the 32bit version and 89 on the 64bit version on my I7.  Since the FPS is always changing and a bit chaotic, I'd say they're about equal.

Also please don't apply this logic to other apps/games.  For example, many newer (mostly 3d) heavyweight games and apps do run better at 64bit.
Also note, of course we can get better FFWD FPS by tweaking settings, but the idea here is to get a baseline reading for both versions using the same & default settings.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: February 05, 2021, 12:07:16 PM by dink »