Author Topic: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey  (Read 19572 times)

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« on: February 06, 2023, 09:14:04 PM »
Hello

I want to add a new Button Combo - B+C to use as Hotkey but can not find anywhere to do it.

Can you please help me with it?

Thanks

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5026
  • Karma: +450/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2023, 12:18:07 AM »
Windows FBNeo: no problem
Libretro FBneo: Can't (for a stupid reason, retroarch won't allow more inputs)

best regards,
- dink

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2023, 01:01:57 AM »
damn :'(

It's for Steam Deck. So, thats not gonna happen.

Thanks for replying anyways.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2023, 02:59:52 AM »
Libretro FBneo: Can't (for a stupid reason, retroarch won't allow more inputs)

Exactly, retroarch doesn't allow to declare a button and map it later, meaning you are limited by the number of buttons readily available on their retropad model. See https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/issues/11273.

The combos made available for neogeo were decided in https://github.com/libretro/FBNeo/issues/51.

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2023, 06:43:22 AM »
thanks guys. appreciate it.

its sad to see their unwillingness to add more key combinations.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2023, 08:54:07 AM »
its sad to see their unwillingness to add more key combinations.

You don't understand, this is an open-source project, anyone who cares for a feature is free to implement it.

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2023, 03:55:33 PM »
ahh ok. i misunderstood then.

i saw on those threads there was a particular person that implementing the 4 key combinations we have at the moment and denied to add any more. hence, i assumed he had control over that system.

anyways.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2023, 02:45:47 AM »
ahh ok. i misunderstood then.

i saw on those threads there was a particular person that implementing the 4 key combinations we have at the moment and denied to add any more. hence, i assumed he had control over that system.

anyways.

That "particular person" is me, and i'm not "unwilling", i can't for the reasons explained multiple times in this topic and in those github issues.

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2023, 07:08:41 AM »
i am sorry, didnt mean to be rude. just wanted to state what i gathered from reading the threads.

is there any easy way for users to replace any of those button combinations with something different?

Thanks

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2023, 12:23:46 PM »

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2023, 04:58:41 PM »
thank you very much.

Could you please tell me exactly what to re-compile for neogeo core after i make the changes in the macros in 2 below
 https://github.com/libretro/FBNeo/blob/868dee240104ed2ba3b74ec0bc3c9f467fb284f8/src/burner/libretro/retro_input.cpp#L200-L259 and  https://github.com/libretro/FBNeo/blob/868dee240104ed2ba3b74ec0bc3c9f467fb284f8/src/burner/libretro/retro_input.cpp#L1812-L1821

Sorry, I havent done these before but looking at the button config it certainly looks like i can give it a go and see what happens.

appreciate your guidance on this.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2023, 04:38:52 AM »
Instructions to build the libretro core are available from https://github.com/libretro/FBNeo/tree/master/src/burner/libretro#how-to-build (obviously you need a dev environment like msys2)
« Last Edit: February 10, 2023, 04:40:15 AM by barbudreadmon »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5026
  • Karma: +450/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2023, 09:36:46 AM »
Maybe it would be better to officially change one of the combinations to b+c?  Is there one already configured that isn't very useful for most games?

Offline rashed4004

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2023, 07:25:50 AM »
BCD isnt that much useful. At least the NeoGeo games that I play like The King of Fighters and some more has no function for BCD

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: How to add additional Button Combo for Hotkey
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2023, 08:09:06 AM »
Users asked for those 4 macros, i won't remove any of them.