Author Topic: FB Neo Bugs Reports  (Read 41557 times)

Offline unit3uk

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #675 on: October 31, 2021, 04:37:14 PM »
Here's a savestate from the libretro core. Early versions of MAME had this bug. It was fixed in version 0.116u1. https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=725
« Last Edit: October 31, 2021, 05:19:18 PM by unit3uk »

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 870
  • Karma: +37/-1
  • Helper
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #676 on: November 01, 2021, 05:21:56 AM »
Here's a savestate from the libretro core. Early versions of MAME had this bug. It was fixed in version 0.116u1. https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=725

@dink : here it is after being converted for standalone usage

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #677 on: November 01, 2021, 10:25:15 AM »
Thanks unit3uk!
Thanks barbudreadmon for converting it!

best regards,
- dink

Offline Martin

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #678 on: November 15, 2021, 08:01:27 AM »
Hi, im new here. Thanks for such great forum. I have the following problem, FB NEO or Alpha doesn't work in fullscreen mode since 15 days ago, since the lastest Windows 10 Pro 64 bits updates.

- With SoftFX blitter gives me this error message when i toggle to fullscreen: "Problem setting '8x16x0bpp (0Hz)' display mode", (no matter what resolution in fullscreen), but it works windowed.

- With Enhanced (Direct3D 7) : "Couldn't intialise 'DirectDraw7 / Direct3D7 Enhanced video output' module. Try installing the Direct X End User runtimes (June 2010)" in windowed mode and fullscreen.

- With Experimental or DirectX Alt (DirectX 9 Graphics) the system gets stucked when i toggle to fullscreen (no matter what resolution) but it responds to ctr+alt+supr andi must close windows session for handling windows 10 normaly (i see a DDE server process that seems stucked in the closing session screen). However Experimental or DirectX Alt work fine in windowed mode.


I have tried diferent version of FB Alpha or Neo, 32 or 64, debugged and not debugged, and i always get the same errors. It happened from a short time ago to nowaday (15 days ago) with the most recent Windows 10 updates. I have tried to reinstall (Direct X End User runtimes (June 2010)) but it doesn't work either. No problem toggle fullscreen or window with blitter Basic (DirectDraw 7)

My PC : Ryzen 2700X ASUS ROG STRIX X370-I GTX 1080 Ti
My SO: Windows 10 PRO 64 bits (original) with all the updates (includes DirectX) 21H1 build 19043.1348
« Last Edit: November 15, 2021, 09:51:20 AM by Martin »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #679 on: November 15, 2021, 08:52:46 PM »
Martin,
after a bit of googling, I found this, it's worth a try:
    Right Click on the Executable File (fbneo.exe) and Select Properties
    Select the Compatibility Tab
    Under Settings Select "Disable Fullscreen Optimizations"
    Click Apply


I read that MS broke fullscreen in a lot of apps, which is unfortunate.  Hopefully this workaround will help.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: November 16, 2021, 01:18:50 AM by dink »

Offline Martin

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #680 on: November 16, 2021, 11:40:05 AM »
Martin,
after a bit of googling, I found this, it's worth a try:
    Right Click on the Executable File (fbneo.exe) and Select Properties
    Select the Compatibility Tab
    Under Settings Select "Disable Fullscreen Optimizations"
    Click Apply


I read that MS broke fullscreen in a lot of apps, which is unfortunate.  Hopefully this workaround will help.

best regards,
- dink

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, THAT WAS THE SOLUTION!!!

BEST REGARDS AND CONGRATULATIONS FOR SUCH A GREAT WORK!

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #681 on: November 16, 2021, 03:18:49 PM »
Martin,
That's great news!  Glad things worked out.

best regards,
- dink

Offline ClessxAlghazanth

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #682 on: November 23, 2021, 02:43:21 AM »
Hi  :cool:

Guardian Storm (Afega - 1998)

The game has a free play switch in the dip switches menu , but the game still displays 'insert coin' even after changing the dip

Its Japanese version (Sen Jing - Guardian Storm) also shows the same behavior

Not a masterpiece of a shmup by any means , but had some memories playing this one at a local arcade back in the day :p

Best regards  :smilie:

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 870
  • Karma: +37/-1
  • Helper
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #683 on: November 23, 2021, 04:44:35 AM »
Hi  :cool:

Guardian Storm (Afega - 1998)

The game has a free play switch in the dip switches menu , but the game still displays 'insert coin' even after changing the dip

Its Japanese version (Sen Jing - Guardian Storm) also shows the same behavior

Not a masterpiece of a shmup by any means , but had some memories playing this one at a local arcade back in the day :p

Best regards  :smilie:

Hmm, it seems the 2 dips address are reversed, i'll push a fix after checking other games from the driver, thanks for the report !

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #684 on: November 25, 2021, 04:35:08 PM »
Heya.

Dark Planet seems somewhat buggy, but I cannot find a video of the real game to confirm it.
There are apparently invisible obstacles in that game (maybe a rendering problem?). Just move around to reproduce it.

See the attached screenshot.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #685 on: November 25, 2021, 09:09:46 PM »
Stifu, it's one of those "3d" games with mirrors and overlays, and a plastic molded rocky terrain.  I think there's a volcano at that spot, and some bridges.   I'd like to hook up the overlay to this sometime, it doesn't support it at this time though.

best regards,
- dink



Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #686 on: November 26, 2021, 12:19:05 AM »
Here's a savestate from the libretro core. Early versions of MAME had this bug. It was fixed in version 0.116u1. https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=725

I'm afraid this one can't be fixed at the time, I spent many days on it.  a half hour ago I loaded up MAME (0.236) and hit a homerun well, MAME has the same bug.
The HOMERUN sprite at 0x137 is after all of the other sprites, which gives it higher priority.  that means it's placed ontop of the other sprites (guy running, crowd in the bleachers, which are much lower on the list of sprites)
If we're lucky, Haze will chime in with some info on this mysterious issue. :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #687 on: November 26, 2021, 04:11:37 PM »
Thanks for the answer, dink.

By the way, Pisces is listed as being from 19?? in FBN, but sites like GameFAQs or Arcade Museum say it's from 1982.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Karma: +381/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #688 on: November 26, 2021, 08:38:35 PM »
Thanks for the answer, dink.

By the way, Pisces is listed as being from 19?? in FBN, but sites like GameFAQs or Arcade Museum say it's from 1982.

Thanks for the tip, I'll update the info asap

best regards,
- dink

Offline jmodlin210

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #689 on: November 27, 2021, 09:51:40 AM »
No drums in musics for the whole game for Batman Atari arcade

I've noticed that the musics of this game in the emulator are missing drums compared to any pcb video.

PCB intro music:

https://youtu.be/yztTMD5X_LU

emulator intro music

https://youtu.be/0Puqqj66G2Q

PCB ending music:

https://youtu.be/yztTMD5X_LU

emulator ending music

https://youtu.be/BTqSD5-9RxQ

There is a blue line on the left side of the ending screens

https://mametesters.org/file_download.php?file_id=1607&type=bug

https://mametesters.org/file_download.php?file_id=1608&type=bug