Author Topic: Pac-man Driver  (Read 13817 times)

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Pac-man Driver
« on: February 12, 2008, 10:52:55 AM »
Here's a driver for games on Pac-man hardware.

Supported games:

Abscam
Ali Baba and 40 Thieves
Atlantic City Action
Beastie Feastie
Big Bucks
Boardwalk Casino
Cannon Ball (Pacman Hardware)
Caterpillar Pacman Hack
Crush Roller (bootleg)
Crush Roller (Kural - bootleg?)
Crush Roller (Kural Esco - bootleg?)
Crush Roller (Kural Samno)
Crush Roller (Kural TWT)
Crush Roller (Sidam bootleg)
Dream Shopper
Driving Force (Pac-Man conversion) - Not working [uses S2650 cpu]
Eggor
Eight Ball Action (Pac-Man conversion) - Not working [uses S2650 cpu]
Eyes (Digitrex Techstar)
Eyes (Techstar)
Eyes (Zaccaria)
Gorkans
Hangly-Man (set 1)
Hangly-Man (set 2)
Hangly-Man (set 3)
Joyman
Jump Shot
Jump Shot Engineering Sample
Korosuke Roller
Lizard Wizard
Magic Brush
Make Trax (set 1)
Make Trax (set 2)
Mr. TNT
Ms. Pac Attack
Ms. Pac-Man
Ms. Pac-Man (bootleg)
Ms. Pac-Man (bootleg, (encrypted))
Ms. Pac-Man (with speedup hack)
Ms. Pac-Man Plus
Ms. Pacman Champion Edition / Super Zola Pac Gal
MTV Rock-N-Roll Trivia (Part 2)
Naughty Mouse (set 1)
Naughty Mouse (set 2)
New Puck-X
Newpuc2 (set 1)
Newpuc2 (set 2)
Pac-Gal
Pac-Man (Hearts)
Pac-Man (Midway)
Pac-Man (Midway, harder)
Pac-Man (Midway, with speedup hack)
Pac-Man Plus
Paint Roller
Piranha
Piranha (hack)
Piranha (older)
Ponpoko
Ponpoko (Venture Line)
Porky - Not working [uses S2650 cpu]
Puckman (Falcom?)
PuckMan (Japan set 1 with speedup hack)
PuckMan (Japan set 1, Probably Bootleg)
PuckMan (Japan set 2)
PuckMan (Japan set 3)
Shoot the Bull - [Not working - bad inputs]
Super Glob (Pac-Man hardware)
Super Glob (Pac-Man hardware) German
The Glob (Pac-Man hardware)
Van-Van Car
Van-Van Car (Karateco)
Van-Van Car (set 3)
Woodpecker (set 1)
Woodpecker (set 2) - [not working, bad dump]

Known bugs/issues:
You need the epos driver as well, since Super Glob (Pac-Man hardware), Super Glob (Pac-Man hardware) German, and The Glob (Pac-Man hardware) use suprglob on that hardware as a parent.
No sound
Shoot the Bull's trackball inputs do not work (correctly)
There is a small graphics glitch in Puckman (and clones) during the intro (on the left side of the screen)
Games that use the S2650 CPU instead of a z80 are not working



Offline BisonSAS

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • [NGBRT]
    • NeoGeo BR Team
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 12:06:00 AM »
Nice! :cool: I love Pacman. :biggrin:

kev

  • Guest
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2008, 06:27:01 PM »
Cool. Crush Roller is a favorite of mine. :)

Offline LittleKaneda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2008, 03:02:59 AM »
Hey it's me! (nice forum)

Just wanted to clarify, the graphics glitch you mentioned also happens during game play.

I also noticed that DIP Switch settings have "1 Life" as Default when it should be 3?


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2008, 03:31:07 PM »
Hey it's me! (nice forum)

Hiya :) Thanks!

Quote
Just wanted to clarify, the graphics glitch you mentioned also happens during game play.

I also noticed that DIP Switch settings have "1 Life" as Default when it should be 3?



Quote
1.1
Fixed graphics glitches on left side of screen
Adjusted default dips (3x lives & 1C 1C)
Now uses generic tile decoding
Cleaned/shortened drawing routine

Thanks to LittleKaneda for the bug report :)

I'll have to keep investigating why the highscore text isn't shown. :S
*edit*
hmm... other games draw in that region of the screen (Super Glob). This isn't related
to video, I think.


Offline LittleKaneda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2008, 04:49:55 PM »
In a bit of a hurry (have to leave in a few) but I gave it a few runs and found a new bug:

The problem is now somewhat reversed, in a way. Whenever pacman enters the right side of the screen, he leaves a mark there (similar to the marks before) except now it stays there the entire game session. The ghosts are able to leave marks on the right side of the screen by both entering and exiting either side. Pacman can only effect the right side of the screen by entering it. I'm able to clear the marks by going into window mode, then back into fullscreen (or vice versa).

I'm not sure if this has anything to do with it, but the right edge of the board is cut off by a few pixels.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2008, 04:51:26 PM by LittleKaneda »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2008, 04:52:41 PM »
I didn't even notice that lol

find this:

if (x >= 223 || x < 0) continue;

change it to

if (x > 223 || x < 0) continue;

I attached the fixed file above.


Basically what it was doing is not drawing the right-most line the background tiles over the previous frame.  This left the sprites from the previous frame peeking through. lol


Offline LittleKaneda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2008, 09:12:37 PM »
Wonderful work! :D

Offline nganiere

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-4
Pacman sound in FBA
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2008, 06:51:44 PM »
I was wondering if anyone is working on getting the sound to work with the pacman driver in fba.  It would be awesome if this could get included....also, I was wondering if anyone is working on the galaxian driver that treble winner had been working on in the past....why isn't this included in the release of fba is beyond me but anyways keep up the good work, nice release of FBA 0.2.96.81.....sega support scrolling fixed, almost perfect now.....

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2008, 11:53:23 PM »
I was wondering if anyone is working on getting the sound to work with the pacman driver in fba. It would be awesome if this could get included.
AFAIK, no.  I know slightly more than nothing, but slightly less than sh** about dealing with sounds of any sort for any system. So if it happens, it probably won't be by me.

Quote
...also, I was wondering if anyone is working on the galaxian driver that treble winner had been working on in the past....why isn't this included in the release of fba is beyond me but anyways keep up the good work, nice release of FBA 0.2.96.81.....sega support scrolling fixed, almost perfect now.....

I'm guessing Treb doesn't think his Galaxian driver is that good. I'd like to take a look at it after the current stuff in MAME gets sorted.


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pac-man Driver
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2008, 01:22:17 AM »
Here's a tiny update:
Just fixed the missing "High Score" in pacman (who knew games actually used their address mirrors? lol)


Offline nganiere

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-4
Pacman Driver
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2008, 05:52:02 PM »
I don't know if any other games from this driver have messed up sound, but Alibaba and 40 Thieves the sound is messed up.....anyone know if this can be fixed or going to be fixed....I haven't tested the other games extensively from this driver but I did notice the sound being buggy under this game from the pacman driver.....

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pacman Driver
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2008, 05:55:17 PM »
Ali baba never had the sound properly hooked up for it (it needs a special write handler to make the sound registers contiguous).  I'll add it to my "to do" list. Thanks for the bug report :)


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: Pacman Driver
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2008, 03:58:16 PM »
Fixed. :)


Offline nganiere

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-4
Re: Pacman Driver
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2008, 08:44:47 PM »
Works.....thanks again....