Author Topic: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch  (Read 5567 times)

Offline vissa

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« on: June 07, 2023, 07:22:06 AM »
I've recently made a retroachievement set for Gee Bee. One user pointed out that, it would be better to control game with a mouse, and now im here after hours of research knowing that Arkanoid supports Mouse controls out of the box, but many other games don't?

I was wondering if there is something I could do to get Mouse controls added to Gee Bee/Bomb Bee/Cutie Q. Or maybe a way to help the process of adding controls in that sort of "Brick Breaker" games. Or at least option to manually do that for RetroArch/RALibretro.

Thanks in advance.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2023, 08:35:19 AM »
There is nothing you can do as a user, that driver currently doesn't have analog controls hooked, and libretro port's mouse device type is only compatible with games using analog controls.
The good news is that it should be entirely possible to hook those analog controls to that driver.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5026
  • Karma: +450/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2023, 10:02:57 AM »
added the analog controls for these games, thanks for the reminder :)  (it was meant to be done!)

best regards,
- dink

Offline vissa

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2023, 01:02:44 PM »
Hi! I have downloaded latest core build on RetroArch, but it doesn't seem to be working? I checked github, and it seems that build failed?

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2023, 01:24:10 PM »
@dink it's happening because it's set to z-axis instead of x-axis, can i change it or do you prefer i make an exception on libretro's side ?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5026
  • Karma: +450/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Mouse controls for Gee Bee in RetroArch
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2023, 06:06:44 PM »
barbudreadmon, I changed it :)  sorry about that!