Author Topic: Overscan...  (Read 5388 times)

Offline wcoder

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Overscan...
« on: January 25, 2013, 12:49:12 PM »
Hi,

Is there's a way to draw overscan part of the screen (Like WinUAE) ?
- Soft evolution or config file ?
 
WCoder

Offline Barry Harris

  • dontbeabarry
  • *
  • Posts: 1785
  • Karma: +0/-65535
  • I'm Barry Harris and I like to f*** people over
Re: Overscan...
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 03:38:11 PM »
Not without editing the drivers, and changing the screen to the visible size + overscan and removing any of the visible offsets from the drawing functions.
Account of Barry Harris; the traitor.
Send me an e-mail at barry@fbalpha.com letting me know how big of a piece of sh** I am.

Offline wcoder

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Overscan...
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 04:43:57 PM »
Thanks for your answer...

With 1943 - CPS1, I try to change 224, 384 to 228, 391 (try to keep ratio)...
The result is a black border one right and down...

In your answer you speak about an offset: where this code is located in this case (or any other with a rom available at gametronik ... useful for live debug)...

Thanks for your help...

WZ


// Driver Definitions
struct BurnDriver BurnDrvCps1941 = {
   "1941", NULL, NULL, NULL, "1990",
   "1941 - Counter Attack (900227 World)\0", NULL, "Capcom", "CPS1",
   NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL,
   BDF_GAME_WORKING | BDF_ORIENTATION_VERTICAL, 2, HARDWARE_CAPCOM_CPS1, GBF_VERSHOOT, FBF_19XX,
   NULL, NTFODrvRomInfo, NTFODrvRomName, NULL, NULL, NTFOInputInfo, NTFODIPInfo,
   DrvInit, DrvExit, Cps1Frame, CpsRedraw, CpsAreaScan,
   &CpsRecalcPal, 0x1000, 224, 384, 3, 4
};

Offline Barry Harris

  • dontbeabarry
  • *
  • Posts: 1785
  • Karma: +0/-65535
  • I'm Barry Harris and I like to f*** people over
Re: Overscan...
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2013, 04:50:33 AM »
Thanks for your answer...

With 1943 - CPS1, I try to change 224, 384 to 228, 391 (try to keep ratio)...
The result is a black border one right and down...

In your answer you speak about an offset: where this code is located in this case (or any other with a rom available at gametronik ... useful for live debug)...

Thanks for your help...

WZ


// Driver Definitions
struct BurnDriver BurnDrvCps1941 = {
   "1941", NULL, NULL, NULL, "1990",
   "1941 - Counter Attack (900227 World)\0", NULL, "Capcom", "CPS1",
   NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL,
   BDF_GAME_WORKING | BDF_ORIENTATION_VERTICAL, 2, HARDWARE_CAPCOM_CPS1, GBF_VERSHOOT, FBF_19XX,
   NULL, NTFODrvRomInfo, NTFODrvRomName, NULL, NULL, NTFOInputInfo, NTFODIPInfo,
   DrvInit, DrvExit, Cps1Frame, CpsRedraw, CpsAreaScan,
   &CpsRecalcPal, 0x1000, 224, 384, 3, 4
};

No need to worry about ratio, if you select "Correct Aspect Ratio" from the menu, the aspect will always be scaled.

Any drawing offsets are driver specific and vary greatly in use. For example, in cps_draw.cpp you will see this several times,

Code: [Select]
nScrY += 0x10;
This offsets the drawing by 16 pixels to account for the non-visible area.
Account of Barry Harris; the traitor.
Send me an e-mail at barry@fbalpha.com letting me know how big of a piece of sh** I am.

Offline wcoder

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Overscan...
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2013, 05:01:31 AM »
Thanks for answer,

I found the right file... but my change don't work ...  (^_^)

With the right variable : INT32 nOff, nScrX, nScrY;  it will we more easy ...

Thanks,

WZ





Offline wcoder

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Overscan...
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2013, 09:16:36 AM »
Hi,

-- Wrong ---
Using offset i can only pad screen inside a closed box, i try to change screen dimension but it don't work !
-- Wrong ---
=>
In fact it seems that it only change offset bewteen layer, nor really change view window...

Any idea ?

Thanks,

WZ
« Last Edit: January 26, 2013, 11:29:40 AM by wcoder »