Author Topic: Running FBNeo in groovyarcade  (Read 834 times)

Offline mtptr

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Running FBNeo in groovyarcade
« on: December 02, 2024, 05:21:20 AM »
Hi, I'm trying to get FBneo to work in groovyarcade.  Its version 1.0.0.02 and has the corresponding romset.  My rom paths all look correct but the games will not launch when I try to play.  The log file states the following:

FBNeo v1.0.0.02
Loading config from /home/arcade/.local/share/fbneo/config/fbneo.ini
Loading config from /home/arcade/.local/share/fbneo/config/fbneo.ini
mapping 0300f5a35e040000120b000014050000,Xbox Series X Controller,a:b0,b:b1,x:b2,y:b3,back:b6,guide:b8,start:b7,leftstick:b9,rightstick:b10,leftshoulder:b4,rightshoulder:b5,dpup:h0.1,dpdown:h0.4,dpleft:h0.8,dpright:h0.2,misc1:b11,leftx:a0,lefty:a1,rightx:a3,righty:a4,lefttrigger:a2,righttrigger:a5,crc:a3f5,platform:Linux
mapping 0300aae40d0f0000aa00000011010000,HORI Real Arcade Pro,a:b2,b:b1,back:b8,dpdown:h0.4,dpleft:h0.8,dpright:h0.2,dpup:h0.1,guide:b12,leftshoulder:b4,leftstick:b10,lefttrigger:b6,leftx:a0,lefty:a1,rightshoulder:b5,rightstick:b11,righttrigger:b7,rightx:a2,righty:a3,start:b9,x:b3,y:b0,platform:Linux
SDLSoundInit (44100Hz) (6000FPS)
Cheat cpu-register INIT.
There was an error loading your selected game.
Doing exit cleanup

Is there something I am missing here or something else I need to do to get this going please?

Offline geese howard

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Running FBNeo in groovyarcade
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2024, 12:25:20 PM »
Did you checked your romset with FBNeo dat?
Do you have all necessary bios?
Are they zip, rar or 7z format?

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: +60/-2
  • Helper
Re: Running FBNeo in groovyarcade
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2024, 07:29:39 AM »
Oops, sorry for the late answer, i didn't notice this topic.

There was an error loading your selected game.

This message is triggered by the driver initialization failing, which could be result of too many things to enumerate, and that sdl port is way too quiet about it.

I don't recommend the sdl port, we don't actively maintain it and my understanding is that it might be missing some important features, as a matter of fact i believe the 1.0.0.02 version you are using didn't even allow to remap inputs.
If you absolutely want to stick with that sdl port, use the nightlies at the very minimum.

I haven't launched it for a long time, but i believe it worked like this :
- you launch the executable once, so that it generates folders and config files
- you close
- you edit the path for szAppRomPaths[0] in the freshly generated fbneo.ini (see its path in your logs)
- if it exists, you delete roms.found from the same folder (to force a rescan)
- you run the executable again, so that FBNeo scan your newly set szAppRomPaths[0] for romsets.

Afterward you can either use the UI to launch a game or launch them from command line using their romset name without extension nor path, for example :
Code: [Select]
/path/to/your/executable/fbneo donpachi