Author Topic: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)  (Read 741652 times)

Offline vbt

  • FBNeo Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +9005/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #945 on: July 18, 2015, 07:22:56 AM »
Namco system 1 is cool too (dragon spirit,splatterhouse,...)

Offline Arcadez

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Arcade Addict
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #946 on: July 18, 2015, 08:09:01 AM »
You port one namco driver they want em all :D
« Last Edit: July 18, 2015, 08:25:44 AM by gamez fan »

Offline SNK_Dude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #947 on: July 18, 2015, 03:16:11 PM »
You port one namco driver they want em all :D

Thats right gamez fan, classic namco is the best.  :biggrin:

Offline Arcadez

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Arcade Addict
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #948 on: July 18, 2015, 06:16:44 PM »
Thats right gamez fan, classic namco is the best.  :biggrin:

Yeah but a huge amount of work to port the namcos1 driver which runs splatterhouse and some other great games to FBA
for that reason i'd never request it but after the suna8 debacle im barred from requests anyway :D

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #949 on: July 19, 2015, 07:30:51 AM »
The Namco titles are nearly as nasty as the Konami ones. Right now I just don't have the time. :(


Offline SNK_Dude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #950 on: July 22, 2015, 02:00:39 AM »
So its hard to port these drivers to FBA even though its really old arcade hardware?

Offline Haze

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +47/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #951 on: July 22, 2015, 05:30:51 AM »
So its hard to port these drivers to FBA even though its really old arcade hardware?

There are a lot of MCUs you'd either have to emulate (like MAME does for most of them since they were decapped) or simulate (which old versions of MAME did) with subtle problems if you get them wrong.

Also things like the starfield generator and non-trivial priority systems (PacLand and Super Pacman really abuse them for example) make things more difficult.

Pole Position even uses a CPU nothing else in MAME uses (some old computer / terminal systems use similar, but even then not an identical CPU)

Namco System 1 is a mess of multiple CPUs and MCUs with very heavy memory banking etc. when it was first emulated people considered it something of a miracle.  (of course porting something is easier than having to reverse engineer and understand it in the first place, but still, a lot of work)

Old hardware doesn't mean 'easy to emulate' at least not if you want a good quality of emulation.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2015, 05:32:08 AM by Haze »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #952 on: July 27, 2015, 08:48:44 PM »
Not really an update I can show, but Cowering's cleanup of the ics2115 (think PGM sound) code made porting the newest version very simple. The next version of FBA will have muuuch better sound in games lok ddp3, espgal, and the many other PGM games. :)


Offline JacKc

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1677
  • Karma: +56/-0
  • Hasta la vista, Baby !
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #953 on: July 28, 2015, 01:34:17 PM »
I can confirm PGM games now sounds better with new ICS2115 version ported to FBA :)

Just need now to fix player 4 button for olds & clones and PGM will be great in FBA  :wink:


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #954 on: July 29, 2015, 10:31:25 AM »
I can confirm PGM games now sounds better with new ICS2115 version ported to FBA :)

Just need now to fix player 4 button for olds & clones and PGM will be great in FBA  :wink:
I'll have time next week to look at it. :) I'll try to remember. Dink has a list for me too.

edit
Actually, can you uncomment this in pgm_run and play olds for me.
    //    default:
    //        bprintf(PRINT_NORMAL, _T("Attempt to read byte value of location %x (PC: %5.5x)\n"), sekAddress, SekGetPC(-1));

if it shows reads from 0xc08000 or 0xc08001, add this to PgmReadByte:

        case 0xC08000:    // p2 controls
           return ~PgmInput[1];
                 
        case 0xc08001:    // p1 controls
           return ~PgmInput[0];


I'm curious the game is trying to read the controls as a byte instead of a word. ddp2 does this for the dips.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 10:37:10 AM by iq_132 »


Offline JacKc

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1677
  • Karma: +56/-0
  • Hasta la vista, Baby !
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #955 on: July 29, 2015, 11:27:04 AM »
uncommented

        default:
        bprintf(PRINT_NORMAL, _T("Attempt to read byte value of location %x (PC: %5.5x)\n"), sekAddress, SekGetPC(-1));

and added to UINT8 __fastcall PgmReadByte(UINT32 sekAddress) :

        case 0xC08000:    // p2 controls
           return ~PgmInput[1];
                 
        case 0xc08001:    // p1 controls
           return ~PgmInput[0];

But it does not fix the player 4 button issue in olds & clones.

NOTE: Player 4 button is working for olds103t before and after this...something related to protection?


Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #956 on: July 29, 2015, 12:07:25 PM »
uncommented

        default:
        bprintf(PRINT_NORMAL, _T("Attempt to read byte value of location %x (PC: %5.5x)\n"), sekAddress, SekGetPC(-1));

and added to UINT8 __fastcall PgmReadByte(UINT32 sekAddress) :

        case 0xC08000:    // p2 controls
           return ~PgmInput[1];
                 
        case 0xc08001:    // p1 controls
           return ~PgmInput[0];

But it does not fix the player 4 button issue in olds & clones.

NOTE: Player 4 button is working for olds103t before and after this...something related to protection?
Probably. I was hoping it would be this. I'll have to look at it next week. :(


Offline JacKc

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1677
  • Karma: +56/-0
  • Hasta la vista, Baby !
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #957 on: July 29, 2015, 01:14:19 PM »
Sadly i can't remember in which FBA version the player 4 button for olds & clones has been broken...But i know by the past, the player 4 button has worked.

So maybe something related to last changes in "improving" olds protection with the intro which previously crashed at the end?


Offline SNK_Dude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #958 on: July 30, 2015, 06:50:54 PM »
There are a lot of MCUs you'd either have to emulate (like MAME does for most of them since they were decapped) or simulate (which old versions of MAME did) with subtle problems if you get them wrong.

Also things like the starfield generator and non-trivial priority systems (PacLand and Super Pacman really abuse them for example) make things more difficult.

Pole Position even uses a CPU nothing else in MAME uses (some old computer / terminal systems use similar, but even then not an identical CPU)

Namco System 1 is a mess of multiple CPUs and MCUs with very heavy memory banking etc. when it was first emulated people considered it something of a miracle.  (of course porting something is easier than having to reverse engineer and understand it in the first place, but still, a lot of work)

Old hardware doesn't mean 'easy to emulate' at least not if you want a good quality of emulation.

Thanks for that quality description Haze, I kinda feel like a fool now thinking just because its older means its easy to emulate, I have even more appreciation to you devs now after understanding that fact.   :smilie:

Offline Arcadez

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Arcade Addict
Re: What I've been working on (iq_132's work in progress)
« Reply #959 on: September 11, 2015, 06:12:30 PM »
Directed at no one in particular just stuck it here and all ;) ive heard Some folks would like to see this one in FBA sometime
nice wee game and is heavily based off the Double Dragon driver code

China Gate