Author Topic: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...  (Read 9849 times)

Offline mai

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« on: January 24, 2006, 09:21:59 AM »
Hi again!

I'm working on my own build of FBA (based on v0.2.95.23), trying to fix all bugs, that I've found in the project (low-pass filter problem, when "pause" has pressed, for example), and to add something new from other projects of FBA, such as Input macro-driver and so on... but recently I've found a bug, when I'd loaded a saved state for "1944 - loop master" during gameplay... and some sprites from previous frame of this game didn't dissapear, as they should, after screen redraw... that's not an emulation bug!.. but I've no idea what's wrong...

Any suggestions?..  thanks in advance...
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 11:53:13 AM by mai »

Offline KingHanco

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
  • Karma: +0/-4
  • "Special " Member
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 10:02:17 PM »
that's not an emulation bug!.. but I've no idea what's wrong...

Any suggestions?..  thanks in advance...

Are you sure? Ask Jan_Klaassen about that problem. Jan_Klaassen said there are alot of problems on FBA v0.2.95.23. It not a game problem.

Offline mai

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2006, 11:48:41 PM »
yes, I know, that's not a game problem... may be, some problems with codes in StatedLoad? this bug still remains in newest FBA test version, FBA Plus, FB Evolution and FBA Combo...

Offline Death Metal

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Crimson Blade
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2006, 10:12:42 PM »
I've always wondered about the low-pass bug when you press pause, too. Never fixed it and thought it was pretty annoying, so I took out the low-pass feature entirely. :p

Offline mai

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2006, 11:01:14 PM »
this is answer of Jan_Klassen:
Quote
Fixed, thanks.

cps_mem.cpp wrote:
Code: [Select]
ba.Data = CpsRam708; ba.nLen = 0x010000; ba.szName = "CpsRam708"; BurnAcb(&ba);

about low-pass filter, just replace this code in lowpass2.cpp (don't forget to include burner.h):
Code: [Select]
//Buff[a] = (short)SATURATE(-32768, 32767, Tmp + Tmp2);
  Buff[a] = (short)SATURATE(-32768, 32767, Tmp + Tmp2)*(1-bRunPause);

Offline mai

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2006, 10:04:54 AM »
and one more question:
anybody knows why mslug2 sometimes runs very slow on FBA?

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2006, 11:54:56 AM »
Mslug2 like that on a real neogeo machine. It pushes the limits of the hardware causing slowdowns.
You can fix this by overclocking the 68k, but this wouldn't be accurate.

Btw, the only bug I can think of right now is that slam masters (I think this is the one), doesn't function at all. Just a black screen.


Offline mai

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2006, 12:50:54 PM »
Quote
Mslug2 like that on a real neogeo machine. It pushes the limits of the hardware causing slowdowns.
You can fix this by overclocking the 68k, but this wouldn't be accurate.
I've heard it many times, but never seen... only on FBA... NeoRAGEx, Kawaks runs mslug2 perfect... do they overclocking 68K?..

Quote
Btw, the only bug I can think of right now is that slam masters (I think this is the one), doesn't function at all. Just a black screen
PS yes, slammast is the main problem (but not only, some minor bugs still remains as usual in such big projects as FBA)...
PPS It seems to me, problem with slammast solved by Gangta in his FBA Combo (besides FBA Team fixed that bug in newest FBA test version)...
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 12:52:10 PM by mai »

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3724
  • Karma: +411/-0
  • Definitely not Dink!
    • NeoSource
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2006, 01:27:06 PM »
I've heard it many times, but never seen... only on FBA... NeoRAGEx, Kawaks runs mslug2 perfect... do they overclocking 68K?..
Most likely, yes.
Quote
PS yes, slammast is the main problem (but not only, some minor bugs still remains as usual in such big projects as FBA)...
PPS It seems to me, problem with slammast solved by Gangta in his FBA Combo (besides FBA Team fixed that bug in newest FBA test version)...
Slammast wasn't broken until 95.23 (iirc), so Gangta didn't fix it in his build, it was fine then.  And yes, in the newest test it was fixed, but you asked about bugs in 95.23, not a new/test version ;)


Offline James33

  • Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 532
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • The Mame Man
    • Emulation Zone
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2006, 10:09:01 PM »
I've heard it many times, but never seen... only on FBA... NeoRAGEx, Kawaks runs mslug2 perfect... do they overclocking 68K?..

Its like that on Mame as well . Plus I have seen it on the real hardware .
IQ Forum Member

Offline FerchogtX

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • FB Alpha Team ;)
    • FB Alpha Plus! Web Site
Re: FBA v0.2.95.23 bug fixes...
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2006, 09:46:01 AM »
Mslug2 is spposed to run slow due to the excess of gfx shown at the same time, the CPU speed isn't enough for that, that's why sometimes the game runs slower, anyway is that way (certifyed too in real hardware). NRX "run" that game at the same speed, anyway you can overclock the 68K processor (as the owner of the arcades I visit XD) to increase performance... but i reccomend that in your emulator, believe me, overclocking a real Neo-Geo CPU gives fatal reactions at the end XD (almost like PUMMM!)
See ya!!!!!! :biggrin:

Good and evil co-exist because of the balance, lies are not part of it...

FB Alpha Plus! site infos updated, see the latest info clicking on my profile link...