Welcome!

General Emulation => MAME => Topic started by: sabrinor on May 25, 2005, 08:34:36 AM

Title: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: sabrinor on May 25, 2005, 08:34:36 AM
nmamex2 is my favourite emu,but when play mslug3(or 4,5)in this emu, there is big bug that the game will hang stochastically or, if you hold the "L+R+C" buttons at the same time, the game hangs.
I have tried my hard to solve this bug, but I failed...
I would be very appreciate if sb could help me to solve this problem...
my mail: sabrinor@gmail.com
Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: James33 on May 25, 2005, 10:41:39 AM
If this bug is within the emu then there is nothing you do to fix .

Maybe you should compile your own build which uses the latest version of mame source code .
This bug does not happen with the offical build of Mame .

Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: robber804 on May 29, 2005, 08:08:06 AM
nmamex2 is based on a VERY old mame src, most likely pre 0.60 source code, so it is missing some of the memory patches

mslug3
Code: [Select]
/* the game hangs after a while without this patch */
data16_t *mem16 = (data16_t *)memory_region(REGION_CPU1);
mem16[0x0288e >> 1] = 0x4e71;
mem16[0x02896 >> 1] = 0x4e71;

i am not sure why it would hang in mslug4 or 5 as i do not have the patches for those games enabled and have never had them hang

mslug4
Code: [Select]
/* Patch out loop to disable console mode */
data16_t *mem16 = (data16_t *)memory_region(REGION_CPU1);
mem16[0x0ae14 >> 1] = 0x4e71;

mslug5
Code: [Select]
data16_t *mem16 = (data16_t *)memory_region(REGION_CPU1);
mem16[0x0122a >> 1] = 0x4e71;
mem16[0x0122c >> 1] = 0x4e71;
Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: sabrinor on May 30, 2005, 09:21:31 AM
thx robber804
but it is not for this reason....
I have patched the three games...
Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: robber804 on May 31, 2005, 02:01:20 AM
ah, your compiling from the source on the nmamex page, i thought you were using the emu of nmamex2 released that supported kof10th
Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: sabrinor on May 31, 2005, 04:45:20 AM
does you mean mslug has no bug in your nmamex2?
I have my own nmamex2 src, and this is a common bug in every nmamex2 I have seen.
besides, robber804, I saw you in ppx bbs, are you chinese?
I hope I can talk with you in QQ~(my: 6344716)
Title: Re: who can solve the bug of mslug3 in nmamex2?
Post by: robber804 on June 02, 2005, 07:08:43 PM
does you mean mslug has no bug in your nmamex2?
I have my own nmamex2 src, and this is a common bug in every nmamex2 I have seen.
besides, robber804, I saw you in ppx bbs, are you chinese?
I hope I can talk with you in QQ~(my: 6344716)

No the only chinese i know is what my babble fishy translates from english :-) but it doesnt seem to do it well.
Or, if you thought i was chinese my it does

I almost forgot nmamex2 uses the old mame input code so that it keeps compatibility with killra or at least it was easier to use that than it was to write new code to support killra, so you have the old input code in a new mame source.  I am not sure where to start looking for that bug at, but i'm pretty sure that is the cause or part of the cause.