Author Topic: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version  (Read 4431 times)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #30 on: January 22, 2024, 12:25:47 AM »
Hi tenpar,
I have a theory:
endboss will only cry if you do not die during the entire boss rush, maybe?

I think its logic somewhere that triggers this cry or not?

I'll try again to figure out the color issue

best regards,
- dink

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #31 on: January 22, 2024, 12:53:01 AM »
I played Fantasy Zone on Saturn, 3DS, etc. in addition to PS2 and there was only one ending.
Also, the bug with the last boss was pointed out when the PS2 version was released.
(I have heard that this has been fixed in the PS3 version, but I don't have it.)
I believe the MAME version is correct.

Good luck with fixing the problem!

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #32 on: January 22, 2024, 10:27:52 AM »
Hi tenpar,
Thanks for the info's, I can only guess sometimes :)
some good news: figured out why end boss is not crying at the end with system 16a versions of Fantzone, I will try to make a fix soon!
After that's fixed I'll try to investigate the bad ship colors on the 16b fantzone's

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #33 on: January 23, 2024, 10:08:18 AM »
So far,
I just have a fix for the missing crying part of the endboss.
edit: this is on github now

I've debugged (like crazy) the "endboss turns red" in the ta bootleg, and other ps2 versions, but, the game is actually requesting this ship to be red by writing the red palette index to the sprite.
I don't know of a way to fix this - it seems like a bug in the gamecode.  You say this is fixed on the PS3 version?  Maybe PS3 game disc has different/fixed .p00 code?  Will you try to investigate this?

When I play the nu, ta *both versions*, using a cheat to get to ending bossrush ("finish stage now cheat"), then beat the bossrush, the ship always remains the correct color.  hmmm..  It's difficult :)

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: January 23, 2024, 10:14:46 AM by dink »

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #34 on: January 23, 2024, 06:43:41 PM »
Thank you for the big fix!

I don't know if there are different p00's as I don't have the PS3 version and don't know how to extract from the PS3 version, sorry.

I also don't know how to extract from the 3DS and Switch versions, but I don't know how to do that either.
The Like a Dragon and Lost Judgment series also have a Fantasy Zone as a mini-game, but it seems to be the OLD version as far as I can tell from YouTube.

However, I also believe that different p00s do not exist, because when I replaced the four ROMs in the MAME fantzone with files extracted from fz1_7536a.p00 and ran them, they worked correctly.
I will use the fixed FBNeo and try the fantzone that replaced the ROM.

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2024, 07:18:50 PM »
I tried fantzone with the fixed FBNeo replacing the ROM, but it did not work unlike MAME.

I did confirm that the last boss is drawn correctly in fantzone with the correct ROM.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #36 on: January 23, 2024, 08:16:59 PM »
You're welcome, I'm glad to have it fixed :)

Well, it's a mystery :) 

Regarding the "ta" versions and sys16b versions: they do get the correct endboss colors sometimes, though, which really is a mystery!
Also regarding replacing the program roms in fantzone.zip (with fz1_7536a.p00, split with your script), it works here in mame and fbneo for me, maybe you missed the file epr-7386a.42 ?

best regards,
- dink

Thank you for the big fix!

I don't know if there are different p00's as I don't have the PS3 version and don't know how to extract from the PS3 version, sorry.

I also don't know how to extract from the 3DS and Switch versions, but I don't know how to do that either.
The Like a Dragon and Lost Judgment series also have a Fantasy Zone as a mini-game, but it seems to be the OLD version as far as I can tell from YouTube.

However, I also believe that different p00s do not exist, because when I replaced the four ROMs in the MAME fantzone with files extracted from fz1_7536a.p00 and ran them, they worked correctly.
I will use the fixed FBNeo and try the fantzone that replaced the ROM.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2024, 08:21:00 PM by dink »

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #37 on: January 23, 2024, 09:27:18 PM »
Sorry, I made a mistake on epr-7386a.42.
I fixed the ROM and it works on FBNeo.
Also the last boss was correctly described!
(Replay attached)

One thought.
I think nu and no are not for 16B but for 16A.
I believe both boards existed back in 1986.

I am not sure if ta is for 16B or 16A.
But the ROM set content of ta is the same as what exists in the PS2 version.
Also, the time attack version was created for PS2.

I think the reason why it is for 16B is because someone wrote and operated a ROM sucked from PS2 as a ROM for 16B.
Maybe ta also works with 16A, but it is hard to say because the size of p00 is different from the others.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #38 on: January 24, 2024, 01:30:57 AM »
For clarity:
nu (fz1_7536a.p00) and no (fz1_07536a.p00) versions are running on 16A
fantznps2, fantznta (ps2 time attack) & fantzoneta (time attack bootleg) are running on 16B.

The 16B versions won't work on 16A because they use the 315-5195 mapper chip, which is only available on 16B hw

p.s. I made a modification to your fantzone.fr replay-recording: it will use the fantzonenu set.  It still plays to the end OK :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #39 on: January 24, 2024, 02:14:46 AM »
Thanks for the description of each ROM set and 16A and 16B.
It is the same as my understanding.

I watched the nu replay.
It showed the last boss correctly!
Does this mean that nu is fixed as well?

The past replays (with a few mistakes) also show the last boss correctly.
(Attached)

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #40 on: January 24, 2024, 02:53:17 AM »
In the replay of one missed ta the last boss turns red.
But the eyes were displayed.

Does this mean that the only fix left is the 16B version?
Good luck!

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #41 on: January 24, 2024, 03:51:57 AM »
I tried to display the last boss in ta.

No misses: displayed correctly
Miss in round 8: displayed correctly
Miss in round 7: displayed correctly
Miss in round 6: Show red

I attach some savestate for your reference.
fantzoneta slot 01.fs: round 8 boss
fantzoneta slot 01.fs.backup8:round 6 boss
Each savestate is no miss.

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #42 on: January 24, 2024, 05:58:27 AM »
Sorry for the continuous posting.

I have one hypothesis about ta.
Dip switch difficulty may be fixed Easy.

Attached is the settings screen of the PS2 version.
You cannot change the difficulty level, etc. in Time Attack.
I have also often heard that the default setting of the AC version of Fantasy Zone is Easy.

When I changed the difficulty to Easy and made a mistake in round 6, the last boss did not turn red.

I will try to verify more.

Offline tenpar

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #43 on: January 24, 2024, 08:03:24 AM »
I ran ta in MAME.
I set the difficulty to Normal and made mistakes only in round 6, but the last boss was drawn correctly.

The difficulty level may not matter, sorry.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5024
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: [Request] Fantasy Zone other version
« Reply #44 on: January 25, 2024, 12:09:24 AM »
Hi tenpar,
I appreciate the research you're doing - hopefully we will find some clues which lead to a solution

best regards,
- dink