Author Topic: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD  (Read 451 times)

Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2019, 08:22:10 AM »
Hi there and thanx for the fast replys...

Well ive been playing Neo Geo Games on FBA since 2 and a half years.
I overclock most of aes emu roms up to 200 % without any problems.
If something will crash... well backup is the key :D
Especially on AoF 2 i have a great benefit when OC up to 250 % ..
I play the Games mostly on CRT without any Laag. But sometimes i
play on my LCD. I have a very fast panel but on AoF 2...For months
i was way to slow or to fast or to dumb whatever to perform the
Super Death Blow. Either on the Bonus round nor during a fight.
Than just for fun i OC the Game up to 250 % and hell yeah i can
blast the foes away with the Super Death Blow.


P.S. Neo Geo CDZ is so fucking amazing.
The Music in most of the games are so freaking awesome !
At the moment i be playing all the KoF Games. Wolfgang Krauser Stage on KoF 96
WOW what a atmosphere !!! i love callsic music and in WK Stage the Score fits so perfect !


ATTENTION

I cant upload the 2 Savestates. A message says that the file is to big ... It is 4 MB

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Karma: +21/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2019, 08:24:09 AM »
Imho, setting everything to 200-250% is a mistake, i think only a few games "benefit" from overclocking (mslug2, maybe twinspri ? i don't know of any other game having severe slowdowns on original hardware), and i also prefer keeping the slowdowns of the original hardware (did you ever play the DC version of twinspri without the slowdowns ? It's fucking hard xD, i'm wondering if the slowdowns weren't there on purpose).

I agree with you... moreover (IMHO) an emulated game should maintain all features of the original hardware/software (as far as possible), also the slowdowns, if present... ;)

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Karma: +21/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2019, 08:30:32 AM »
I cant upload the 2 Savestates. A message says that the file is to big ... It is 4 MB

That's weird... the file size restriction should be of 10 Mbytes...  :S
Restrictions: maximum total size 10240KB, maximum individual size 10240KB

[EDIT]
I did some upload tests:
file of 9,73 MB (upload failed)
file of 6,82 MB (upload failed)
file of 4,32 MB (upload failed)
file of 3,01 MB (upload failed)
file of 1,95 MB (upload successful)

I guess that the actual size restriction for a single file is about 2 Mbytes.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2019, 09:02:46 AM by Gab75 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2876
  • Karma: +245/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2019, 08:55:43 AM »
Trap15 rewrote the vblank code in Mslug2 which gives it a nice non-slowdown framerate, it's called "Metal Slug 2 Turbo" - no overclocking necessary :)


It might be related so i'll share the information : a few years ago someone reported an issue with aof3 (MVS), the issue was related to overclock and it wouldn't disappear when going back to 100% without also removing the related .fs file.
My point is that overclocking once can "corrupt" eeprom files, and it won't go back to normal if you simply set normal clock again.
Imho, setting everything to 200-250% is a mistake, i think only a few games "benefit" from overclocking (mslug2, maybe twinspri ? i don't know of any other game having severe slowdowns on original hardware), and i also prefer keeping the slowdowns of the original hardware (did you ever play the DC version of twinspri without the slowdowns ? It's fucking hard xD, i'm wondering if the slowdowns weren't there on purpose).

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2876
  • Karma: +245/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2019, 09:00:21 AM »
Fulg0re, for now, please rar or zip and upload the savestate to http://www.sendspace.com and paste the link.  I will try to see why attachment size is restricted - it shouldn't be.

I need you to do the test at 100% cpu, but also rename or delete neocdz.fs in config/games before running AOF 1.  This is the "Internal Memorycard"(eeprom) for NeoGeoCD, and it might be corrupted - as barbudreadmon says.  Make sure to save a backup of this file before deleting it because it has your game data in it.

best regards,
- dink

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: +16/-1
  • lr-fbalpha developer
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2019, 12:13:51 PM »
I guess that the actual size restriction for a single file is about 2 Mbytes.

Sorry about that, i didn't notice i had to set php's upload_max_filesize/post_max_size settings to 10M for this forum, it should be ok now.

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
  • Karma: +21/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2019, 12:41:16 PM »
Sorry about that, i didn't notice i had to set php's upload_max_filesize/post_max_size settings to 10M for this forum, it should be ok now.

Thanks! I tried to upload a file of 9.73 Mbytes (9968.83 kB) and all went well ! :)

Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2019, 02:22:13 PM »
Here the Files :)

Offline el_rika

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2019, 03:48:11 PM »
Just a quiick question on the topic of overclocking. Could an "underclocking" option be added to Fba? Is it possible?  Mame has this option and if is useful for achieving closer to PCB levels of slowdown in some games (among others, cave shmups).

Offline iq_132

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3568
  • Karma: +380/-0
  • What's a pac?
    • NeoSource
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #24 on: May 08, 2019, 04:27:05 PM »
Just a quiick question on the topic of overclocking. Could an "underclocking" option be added to Fba? Is it possible?  Mame has this option and if is useful for achieving closer to PCB levels of slowdown in some games (among others, cave shmups).
FBA does have underclocking. Not all drivers support this. It is being worked on.


Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2876
  • Karma: +245/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #25 on: May 08, 2019, 07:04:49 PM »
Sorry about that, i didn't notice i had to set php's upload_max_filesize/post_max_size settings to 10M for this forum, it should be ok now.

Thanks :)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2876
  • Karma: +245/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #26 on: May 08, 2019, 07:10:54 PM »
Here the Files :)

I tried to load this state, but it won't work (it's stuck) :/
What is the filedate on your fba*.exe ?  are you using my debug exe or other exe?
Can you please tell me how to get to this piano level?  Maybe I can try ;)


Offline Fulg0re

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2019, 12:13:29 AM »
Hi

I just use your last updated debug exe file from this
Forum. Can you try to use all my files on a seperat installed
CDZ? I mean put only my FBA Config my Aof Config and
my save state?

The Piano Stage is the Stage of King.
4 Character. I selected on 1st Bonus Round
Master Super Death Blow. 2nd Bonus Round
where game freeze I selected Chop Bottlenecks.

Offline el_rika

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #28 on: May 09, 2019, 03:51:02 AM »
FBA does have underclocking. Not all drivers support this. It is being worked on.

Didn't know that. Thank you!

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2876
  • Karma: +245/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: bug un FBA - NEO GEO CD
« Reply #29 on: May 09, 2019, 07:48:14 AM »
Ok, I got the state to work - some changes to code the other day I forgot about broke compatibility with other states. oops :)
I made some fireballs on King's Piano stage, they sound ok here (at 100% cpu) 
I also set cpu to 200% and loaded the 200% state, and sound is fine also.

Maybe input recording would help me better?  load game & state, then "game -> replay -> record input", press OK, and play game.  after it makes some bad sounds, "game -> replay -> stop replay"
then make a second recording for bonus game freeze?
note: this will make a recording file in fba\recordings

thank you!
- dink

Hi.

Today I played art of fighting 1.
There are some weird sound failure especially on
Kings piano stage when casting a fireball.
When choosing the bonus stage where you have to chop
the bottlenecks game freeze.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2019, 07:53:54 AM by dink »