Author Topic: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)  (Read 182 times)

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« on: October 09, 2019, 03:16:41 AM »
Hello, I have a few question about the FBA emulator in fightcade 1/2. How is v-sync applied? Is it disabled automatically in full screen mode or do I have to do that through my graphics card? I'm on Windows 10 btw.

Offline Jonason

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 06:34:26 AM »
What GPU do you have, Strifeomo?

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2019, 07:59:48 PM »
Geforce 730M

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2019, 12:33:02 AM »
btw what does dwm sync do, does it add more processing lag as opposed to playing dedicate fullscreen?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3138
  • Karma: +259/-0
  • side effects: new or worsening heart failure
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2019, 12:43:30 AM »
dwm sync is for windowed only, fullscreen uses vsync via triple buffer.

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2019, 11:36:11 PM »
But does the dwm sync feature (while playing windowed) add processing lag?

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2019, 11:39:34 PM »
I'm in windows 10 btw.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3138
  • Karma: +259/-0
  • side effects: new or worsening heart failure
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2019, 09:16:07 AM »
it doesn't add lag, but it is a bit more cpu intense.  Slightly less than regular vsync.

Offline strifeomo

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2019, 10:35:37 PM »
I have one more question. Do roms run at their proper framerate  in windowed mode, for example sf:third strike runs at slightly below 60 fps

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3138
  • Karma: +259/-0
  • side effects: new or worsening heart failure
Re: V-sync in general for FBA (FC1/FC2)
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2019, 11:43:16 PM »
yes, if your machine can handle it.