Author Topic: FB Neo Bugs Reports  (Read 163125 times)

Offline the_maq

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1035 on: August 07, 2023, 08:53:14 PM »
@Dink - I'm using the Uni bios 3.3 for neo cd metal slug 2 (japanese region) and you get white blood on display instead of red but if i revert to the standard neo cd bios the red blood returns to normal, we all know to enable red blood for the majority neo cd titles u need to select the japanese version of the rom and that's it, without the use of a code or enabling it with a cheat option, what do you make of it? and btw I haven't checked the rest of the games regarding this issue..
« Last Edit: August 08, 2023, 12:26:56 AM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1036 on: August 08, 2023, 09:19:30 AM »
@Dink - I'm using the Uni bios 3.3 for neo cd metal slug 2 (japanese region) and you get white blood on display instead of red but if i revert to the standard neo cd bios the red blood returns to normal, we all know to enable red blood for the majority neo cd titles u need to select the japanese version of the rom and that's it, without the use of a code or enabling it with a cheat option, what do you make of it? and btw I haven't checked the rest of the games regarding this issue..

Hi the_maq,
In the DIP's menu select Japan as the region, is all that's needed with regular bios

best regards,
- dink

Offline ClessxAlghazanth

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1037 on: September 23, 2023, 09:01:34 PM »
Hi  :cool:

I've launched Asteroids Deluxe (parent version) on the latest devbuild and while the games starts and the first screen with highscores etc appears normally but when I press start (I've set in to freeplay btw) the screen turn completely black

I can hear the sound firing etc so that the game seems to be in progress but the screen is pitch black , nothing displayed

I remember it running without issues when I played it last time , which was a few months before I believe

I have the correct romset I think

Best regards  :wink:

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1038 on: September 24, 2023, 03:26:10 AM »
Thanks for the report.

I added hiscore support for this game back in 2021, and removed it later after discovering that bug you mention, but it seems a contributor added it back.
For now you can play this game normally if you disable hiscore.

@dink i think there was a reason we decided to disable hiscore for this game instead of fixing that black screen, like maybe the hiscore.dat entry looked wrong ?
Edit: i found our earlier discussion about it, the entry in hiscore.dat seems to save game timers, which seems extremely fishy
Edit2: and that game actually doesn't need hiscore.dat support, they are already saved through nvram, i'll remove the hiscore flag again (with a note this time)
« Last Edit: September 24, 2023, 04:36:29 AM by barbudreadmon »

Offline ClessxAlghazanth

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1039 on: October 08, 2023, 08:27:44 AM »
Thank you , can enjoy Asteroids Deluxe once again :cool:

One thing I noticed that in Itazura tenshi (japan) dip switch settings one can not change the difficulty anything except 'Easy' , the selection diaglo comes up empty

Can you check it if possible ?

Thanks and have a good one  :wink:

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1040 on: October 08, 2023, 05:55:43 PM »
Hi ClessxAlghazanth,
The dips are fixed for Itazura Tenshi, thanks for letting us know! :)

best regards,
- dink

Thank you , can enjoy Asteroids Deluxe once again :cool:

One thing I noticed that in Itazura tenshi (japan) dip switch settings one can not change the difficulty anything except 'Easy' , the selection diaglo comes up empty

Can you check it if possible ?

Thanks and have a good one  :wink:

Offline ClessxAlghazanth

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1041 on: October 09, 2023, 07:33:04 AM »
Wow , thanks for the quick fix , dink :)

Offline geese howard

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1042 on: October 10, 2023, 02:16:30 PM »
After generate an arcade dat with only parents, i see games like kf2k3pcb and svcpcb.
Why the games arent considered clones of kof2003 and svc, respectively?

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: +59/-1
  • Helper
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1043 on: October 11, 2023, 12:44:13 AM »
Probably because those 2 don't run on neogeo MVS/AES hardware. They are also not part of the neogeo-only dat file.

Offline ClessxAlghazanth

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1044 on: October 15, 2023, 03:39:35 AM »
Greetings once again  :smilie:

Arcade game B-Wings (Data East) has scrambled gfx on the upper side of main menu screen , and no music plays durig gameplay , just sound effects

I remember the nes port having awesome music  ;p

Best regards  :cool:

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1045 on: October 15, 2023, 09:19:54 AM »
Hi ClessxAlghazanth,
This is actually how the real arcade game is - without music.  I guess it's best to stick with the NES version. :)
There is some gfx issue, but, we won't know how to fix it would a video of the real pcb unfortunately.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: October 15, 2023, 09:24:00 AM by dink »

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1046 on: October 18, 2023, 04:59:17 AM »
Hello. Clearly not a game I care about at all, but I just randomly tested Lotto Fun and it seems buggy to me.
I picked the "Choose 3" mode, and managed to get 2 winning numbers out of 3, but then it seems the game got stuck as it displayed I won 10 tickets.
Saved state attached.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1047 on: October 18, 2023, 09:55:24 AM »
Thanks Stifu, it should be OK now.  Had to fake giving out tickets :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1048 on: October 18, 2023, 12:27:06 PM »
Thanks dink! Now we can all just avoid this game because it's boring as hell, and not because it's buggy. :p

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Karma: +449/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FB Neo Bugs Reports
« Reply #1049 on: October 18, 2023, 01:01:23 PM »
Thanks dink! Now we can all just avoid this game because it's boring as hell, and not because it's buggy. :p

haha, good call :)