Author Topic: FBN Bugs Reports  (Read 2595 times)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2020, 11:06:00 PM »
littlebear, a fix for megamindtris is in

best regards,
- dink

Offline littlebear

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2020, 11:22:45 PM »
Thank for the super quick respond and fix.

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2020, 11:28:25 PM »
This is xmen 6p version on fba the 5th stage: the elevator is meant to go down.. but get's horribly stuck..??
« Last Edit: August 01, 2020, 02:14:34 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2020, 11:51:55 PM »
the_maq will you post a savestate file at this point in the game?
"Game -> Save States -> Save State", then use the "Attach:" function while writing a message.

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2020, 12:18:48 AM »
hows that..
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 12:51:12 AM by the_maq »

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2020, 03:22:16 AM »
This is 4p version of xmen on fba when all characters are selected simultaneously to continue from any point we get this on screen - running diagnostics out of the blues..?? - btw they've been circled in capture 2..also spotted a strange black box flashing in the ocean in capture 3 just before the 3rd stage begins.??
« Last Edit: August 01, 2020, 02:17:59 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2020, 09:04:25 AM »
the_maq, thanks for the infos & state files, I'm working hard to get xmen6p as close to pcb as possible as far as video goes, I've got nearly all the video bugs except stage 5 fixed so far.
I'll also take a look at the 4p version to see what's happening there.

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2020, 06:20:41 PM »
Your welcome i'm glad to be of help.. :cool: best regards..
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 12:17:45 AM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #23 on: July 10, 2020, 12:42:57 AM »
Dear friends & fans of FBNeo,
We have a (theoretically) pcb-perfect xmen 6p now.  woohoo \o/

All of the video bugs - at least, the ones I know of - are fixed now.  It will be up to you guys to find any remaining bugs so we can have an even more perfect xmen 6p. :)

The stage 5 bug was tricky!  I'll try to get a fix for the 4p xmen continue issue in there before I put the new code on git, .. expect it by Friday night if things go well!  Thanks for finding those bugs, the_maq.

best regards,
- dink

image notes:
everything except st5: fixed linescrolling (raster-like effect) on second screen
st5: fixed tilemap selector
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 12:51:01 AM by dink »

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +22/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2020, 04:39:39 AM »
Excellent work! :)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #25 on: July 11, 2020, 01:54:59 AM »
xmen 6p fix is in, as well as a fix for the 4p 'continue' diagnostic/romtest screen.  The game actually partially crashes when all start buttons are pressed at the exact same time during a single frame @ the continue screen.  One could actually cause different crashes by holding different combinations of the start buttons.  Anyhow, a little work-around was added so causing that problem is no longer possible.

I'm not sure about the black box "floating" in the water, it's in every playthrough video I can find of the game, although I'm not 100% sure any of the videos are real pcb or not.  Would someone care to try to find a pcb-recording at that point so we will know for sure? :)

p.s. the black bars as the elevator scrolls down in level 5 on the far sides of the screen is normal and not an emulation bug - at least, I'm pretty confident is isn't.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Gab75

  • Advanced Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +22/-0
  • All games deserve to be emulated, more or less! :P
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #26 on: July 11, 2020, 03:16:31 AM »
I'm not sure about the black box "floating" in the water, it's in every playthrough video I can find of the game, although I'm not 100% sure any of the videos are real pcb or not.  Would someone care to try to find a pcb-recording at that point so we will know for sure? :)

I found a recording of a real cabinet (6p version) and there isn't any "black box" floating in the water (at least I can't see it)...
look at min 14:45: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnbZgcRtVCA

NB: the "problem" is that the "black box" appears only for a while (excactly for 8 frames), so it's difficult to notice it in a video of poor quality.
Moreover I have a question... the savestate (xmenu 2.fs) starts from the last three seconds of "ocean cut-scene", so I ask, is the "X-Jet sprite" visible during the entire cut-scene?
« Last Edit: July 11, 2020, 03:43:50 AM by Gab75 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #27 on: July 11, 2020, 09:22:58 AM »
Gab75, the black box is in the 4p version, the 6p version it might be fixed (I'm not sure if it is, but the continue crash-bug doesn't exist in the 6p version - I'd assume they worked a little harder on the 6p version)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #28 on: July 11, 2020, 10:06:16 AM »
It turns out the black box _is_ in the actual PCB.  Here's a pcb recording: https://youtu.be/qt0j7mPBUB0?t=617
it's Konami's fault this time :)

top: emulation (fbn)
bottom: pcb recording
« Last Edit: July 11, 2020, 10:08:36 AM by dink »

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #29 on: July 11, 2020, 07:39:20 PM »
Stumbled across this one - the intro for wild west cowboys - konami on fba the missing bottom block is on and off like a radio (between capture 1 and 2) bit of a sporadic routine..? also a lever error pops up during gameplay in capture 3..??
« Last Edit: July 24, 2020, 10:18:11 PM by the_maq »