Author Topic: FBN Bugs Reports  (Read 6615 times)

Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #180 on: September 01, 2020, 05:09:26 PM »
I've noticed that in fbneo menu:

misc > options > set application thread priority > is broken

It doesn't change the app's priorty in task manager which remains on 'normal'.
I've also tried running fbneo.exe as admin, but still no change happens.

Checking the .ini

Code: [Select]
// The thread priority for the application. Do *NOT* edit this manually
nAppThreadPriority 2

This value does change in the .ini according to which priority level you select in the emulator.
-2 being 'low' all the way to 2 being 'high'.

Tested on Windows 7 x64 SP1

Offline the_maq

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #181 on: September 01, 2020, 11:45:30 PM »
the_maq, thank you for the report - this one's fixed now.

best regards,
- dink
I've done a full rally on this and it checks out - dead on..!! - thanks for the fix.. :cool:
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 01:37:26 AM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #182 on: September 02, 2020, 01:06:40 AM »
the_maq, excellent - thanks for verifying

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #183 on: September 02, 2020, 01:09:44 AM »
RN,
Confusing as the option is, it actually sets the priority of the emulation thread in the fbneo process - which of course isn't the same as the process priority (the info that shows up in task list or process explorer).

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: September 02, 2020, 01:27:30 AM by dink »

Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #184 on: September 03, 2020, 03:28:19 AM »
RN,
Confusing as the option is, it actually sets the priority of the emulation thread in the fbneo process - which of course isn't the same as the process priority (the info that shows up in task list or process explorer).

best regards,
- dink

I am well confused! lol

So it's an internal priority of the emulator, not a windows management priority?

Would this be for slower PC system setups or testing vs mainboards or what?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #185 on: September 03, 2020, 03:29:40 PM »
RN, think of threads like a mini process inside of a process.  fbn sets only the thread which runs the emulation/input/sound/video to a higher priority.

Setting the process priority (like in task manager -> Set Priority) sets all the threads in the process to a higher priority, so its a little different.

If anyone can prove that setting the process priority higher is more beneficial for fbn, I'll change it.  I did some quick tests experimenting with the process priority and fbn, checking fps w/ffwd and tried lowering audio buffers/etc, and couldn't get any better performance than if the process were at normal (with fbn thread priority at normal)

best regards,
- dink

Offline littlebear

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #186 on: September 03, 2020, 05:22:18 PM »
Meteor (bootleg of Asteroids) and Meteorite (Proel bootleg of Asteroids) both are black screen

Thank you.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2020, 05:30:23 PM by littlebear »

Offline JacKc

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: +53/-0
  • Hasta la vista, Baby !
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #187 on: September 04, 2020, 03:04:27 AM »
@ littlebear

Yes it is noted in the driver:

Code: [Select]
// not working (all use same read handler/inputs)
//     asterock
//     asterockv
//     meteorite
//     meteorbl


Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #188 on: September 04, 2020, 03:58:31 AM »
Thanks dink for the information.



If anyone can prove that setting the process priority higher is more beneficial for fbn, I'll change it. 

Test example with the CPS3 driver which demands a lot more of a demand on the CPU than other drivers perhaps. This can make the rom run a bit more sluggish when the windows task manager process is "normal". Upping the priority to "above normal" or "high" gives a far more accurate representation and input latency feedback as expected from the actual mainboard setup.

This typically applies to systems that are perhaps a bit strained, or using some "real time" screen recording (OBS for example), or live streaming etc.

Introducing a task manager control in the FBN menu/config to automatically set a priority value on loading would be so welcomed.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #189 on: September 04, 2020, 08:47:25 AM »
littlebear, sorry, those games aren't working and we forgot to mark them as such.

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #190 on: September 05, 2020, 12:50:42 AM »
RN,
I removed the thread priority thing and replaced it with process priority.  please give it a try.

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #191 on: September 05, 2020, 01:19:02 AM »
littlebear,
the asterrock and meteroite games have been fixed, thanks for reminding us they were broken :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #192 on: September 05, 2020, 07:58:02 AM »
RN,
I removed the thread priority thing and replaced it with process priority.  please give it a try.

best regards,
- dink

dink,
Just tested and it works perfect!
It also loads up with the correct priority from the config.

This is excellent and thank you!

Will this brilliant and highly useful feature be implimented in a future release?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #193 on: September 05, 2020, 09:08:59 AM »
RN,
that's good.  Yes, everything that's been done on the git will be in a release when we do one.

best regards,
- dink

Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #194 on: September 06, 2020, 05:07:14 AM »
RN,
that's good.  Yes, everything that's been done on the git will be in a release when we do one.

best regards,
- dink

Just a small side note query dink.

With the "nAppProcessPriority" value:

128 = high
32768 = above normal
32 = normal
16384 = below normal
64 = low

Is this correct?