Author Topic: IPS Patches not working  (Read 566 times)

Offline DarkShadowMD

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like arcades and art!
    • DarkShadow M.D. Art Corner
IPS Patches not working
« on: April 18, 2019, 06:43:47 PM »
Hello all!

I'm new here, and loving the emu, pretty nice and fast!

What brings me here is my failed attempts to play a romhack using the emu. I'm using the IPS manager to make it work, but I can't enable Kurenai in the Streets of Rage 2 game. I've followed the format you use for patches, but nothing seems to work XD. The IPS Manager lets me choose the patches, I have to say, but they just don't work for some reason (Supposedly, Blaze is replaced with Kurenai, but I can still see Blaze...).

I'll leave here my zip file with the different patches I have for the game, none work, and I checked I have the CRC they need for the patches to work.

The patches were downloaded from here...
https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/1364/

And I leave the zip taht supposedly works for FBA, except they don't XD, I made it with the same IPS Patches, just renamed, in case there was a problem with character limit.

If you can help me with this, I will be truly thankful!

Cheers!
No.... no no no... it's not Sarcoidosis!

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2019, 12:46:22 AM »
The IPS stuff is something I never really worked out, I don't think anyone else has - either.  I will, of course, try to get it to work and let you know my findings - but I can't promise anything :(

best regards,
- dink

Offline DarkShadowMD

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like arcades and art!
    • DarkShadow M.D. Art Corner
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2019, 02:34:47 AM »
Yaay! Thank you so much!!! ^^
No.... no no no... it's not Sarcoidosis!

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2019, 09:21:16 AM »
I found a problem. the IPS stuff was written a long time ago - back when rom names didn't contain spaces.  It's getting confused because the filename has spaces in it.  I will have a fix for that tonight.

best regards,
- dink

Offline DarkShadowMD

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like arcades and art!
    • DarkShadow M.D. Art Corner
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2019, 02:26:56 PM »
Ohhh so nice! Thank you very much! I assume this means a new release in the future with this fix! I'll be looking forward to it!
Thanks a bunch! <3
No.... no no no... it's not Sarcoidosis!

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2019, 12:46:48 AM »
Yes :) it was a lot of work, but someone had to do it.  The IPS Manager shouldn't be such a buggy heap now :)

When there is a file with spaces, they'll have to be quoted in the .dat file.  Check out the attached new test-exe.  Also have a look at the updated patches (in md_sor2u.zip) to see what I mean about the quotes.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: April 20, 2019, 12:48:04 AM by dink »

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2019, 10:04:29 AM »
After testing several .ips files from romhacking, I made the support/ips/romsetname/*.dat file a bit more lenient towards how the ips can be specified.

for example, if the ips file had .ips on the end of it - or had spaces in the filename, it would fail.  That should be OK now. :)

attached is a new test exe, and a patch for Altered Beast to use the arcade digital samples.

best regards,
- dink

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2019, 10:53:41 PM »
More IPS fun: for Megadrive games.

Altered Beast - Arcade digital samples (voices)
Battle Mania DGG - Equalized + MIJET
Contra - Hard Corps MIJET patches
Castlevania Bloodlines enhanced colors
Raiden Trad - arcade tiles and colors
+ Streets of Rage 2 - Kurenai character addition

While testing out the IPS engine (and fixing bugs), I tried out several different game patches.  Since setting them up / creating config for them takes time - I figured it would be nice to share.   See file attachment! :)

All patches comes from http://www.romhacking.net "Sega Genesis" category under "Sections -> ROM Hacks"

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 10:55:00 PM by dink »

Offline DarkShadowMD

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like arcades and art!
    • DarkShadow M.D. Art Corner
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2019, 02:16:55 AM »
Oh my god! It works, it WORKS!

I can confirm you the patches work nicely, I can play with Kurenai now!

Thank you so much!

Now I assume I'll be using this debug version until the final one comes out!
I'm truly grateful, thanks for developing this awesome emu!

Thank you! <3
No.... no no no... it's not Sarcoidosis!

Offline DarkShadowMD

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like arcades and art!
    • DarkShadow M.D. Art Corner
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2019, 05:57:05 PM »
Hey! It's me once again!

I noticed the IPS Patches from Romhacking were bugged somehow (if you grabbed an enemy with Kurenai, the game bugged) after some research, I found other patches that work perfectly!

If you don't mind, I updated your IPS pack with these.

Thank you so much again!
No.... no no no... it's not Sarcoidosis!

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2019, 06:55:51 PM »
DarkShadowMD,
Excellent, thanks for the updated patches :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline xerf84

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2019, 06:35:07 PM »
Hello Dink, after the last update of fba on the ips patch manager (10/22/19), now the ips I had for neogeo and cps2 games do not work, any suggestions?  :redface:

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2019, 08:02:12 PM »
xerf84, don't worry - I can fix them :)  can you please upload your ips's here so I can check what went wrong?

As soon as I get the your ips files I can get to fixing it.  Sorry about the trouble,

best regards,
- dink

Offline xerf84

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2019, 09:38:35 PM »
Well, I suppose it must be something when defining the syntax in the * .dat file, I leave some that work in the previous version. Greetings and thanks in advance.

Online dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2988
  • Karma: +253/-0
  • feed the horse yumyum
Re: IPS Patches not working
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2019, 10:54:18 PM »
xerf84, thanks for the bug report and ips files - I just checked in a patch :)

best regards,
- dink