Author Topic: Superman  (Read 434 times)

Offline Pelucon8

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
Superman
« on: January 09, 2020, 05:22:38 AM »
I don't know if it only happens to me, but in this game, when you hit any enemy, you feel a slight pop in the sound. I don't know how to explain it, but that doesn't happen in Mame. It's very small, but there it is.

It'll be a matter of Hz? Because according to mame the game goes to "57.430000 Hz", and in FBN it seems to go to "60 Hz" since the scroll is quite smooth...

Greetings!

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3387
  • Karma: +287/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Superman
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2020, 08:58:45 AM »
Hi,
I get the exact same pops and crackles in Superman's audio in MAME(v.216) as FB (current git vers.)
Unfortunately I don't think its fixable because the crackles/pops are in the source material -- the sample roms dumped from the game.
Actually now that I tried an old MAME the clicks are a lot lower, I think it might be at least somewhat fixable.  lets see... :)
best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: January 09, 2020, 09:03:49 AM by dink »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3387
  • Karma: +287/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Superman
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2020, 09:08:35 AM »
Figured it out, and a fix is checked into git :)
The problem is actually related to the 12bit signed accu handling fix that LN did last year, I let him know about it in-case he wants to revise.

best regards,
- dink
« Last Edit: January 09, 2020, 09:15:42 AM by dink »

Offline Pelucon8

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Superman
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2020, 09:38:43 AM »
Oh, that was quick. Thanks a lot, Dink.

Let's hope to test it soon, especially on XP.  :smilie:

Thank you very much!
« Last Edit: January 09, 2020, 09:52:13 AM by Pelucon8 »

Offline jorgemagana

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Superman
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2020, 11:36:19 AM »
Figured it out, and a fix is checked into git :)
The problem is actually related to the 12bit signed accu handling fix that LN did last year, I let him know about it in-case he wants to revise.

best regards,
- dink

Hello, excuse my ignorance but, the fix is in the fbn emlator or in the rom zip? sorry for my bad english.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 526
  • Karma: +25/-1
  • Helper
Re: Superman
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2020, 11:48:05 AM »
In the fbn emulator

Offline jorgemagana

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Superman
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2020, 11:49:18 AM »