Author Topic: Emulator taking forever to load  (Read 260 times)

Offline Dralro

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Emulator taking forever to load
« on: July 17, 2020, 01:28:38 PM »
My PC isn't a toaster, it's probably medium in terms of specs and relatively new. But FBNeo takes an insane amount of time to load, when I actually start it, it takes a while to open the actual emulator, and then when I try to run a game, it gets stuck in "not responding" for a good minute or two before finally starting to load the game. I have the correct ROMs and I installed normally, but I'm not sure what's going on.

This is obviously an issue because netplay is essentially not possible if the emulator won't run in a timely manner.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2020, 01:43:07 PM »
This is obviously an issue because netplay is essentially not possible if the emulator won't run in a timely manner.

Are you using FightCade ? If so, could you try again with our official build from https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo-WIP-Storage-Facility/releases/download/appveyor-build/fbn-win32-gcc.7z ?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2020, 03:06:54 PM by barbudreadmon »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2020, 03:16:27 PM »
Hi there,
grab the debug version and enable "Show Debug Console" under Misc -> Options.  It's the 3rd option in the middle section.
Now restart the emulator and watch the debug console as it loads and gets stuck, take a screenshot of this debug console and highlight the parts that get stuck.  Maybe it can give us a clue as to what is wrong.

The load times should be something like:
Win7
I7 2600 w/hdd: 1 second
I7 2600 w/ssd: 1/4 second

WinXP
p4 3ghz (system info says 2.999ghz): 1.5 to 2 seconds

Win10
Intel "Stick" pc: 2-10 seconds, depending on the mood of this thing :)

Just curious, what happens if you disable antivirus and anti-spyware apps?

good luck & best regards,
- dink

Offline Dralro

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2020, 12:21:00 AM »
Alright so I did what you said after a few different ideas didn't work, and there are two places it gets stuck while loading, one of them is right at the beginning. It opens the console and gets stuck at "enabling High-Resolution System Timer" for a couple minutes. Then when it finally loads and I boot up the game it gets stuck at the attached screenshot. This is what happened upon using the debug mode for the first time, just to be clear, and the load time was quite long.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2020, 09:12:27 AM »
Hi,
The only thing I can think of right now:
Try disabling the high resolution system timer @ Misc -> Options, right above the "Show Debug Console" setting.

best regards,
- dink

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2020, 09:29:51 AM »
Are the roms stored on a local disk ? usb disk ? network disk ?
Also, what's your computer exactly ?  And did you try using the other builds from https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo-WIP-Storage-Facility/releases ?

Offline Dralro

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2020, 10:31:55 AM »
The ROMs are simply on my hard drive in the default folder, and the path is set properly.

My computer is as follows:

- 8GB PC3 RAM
- Intel Core i3-3220 @3.3GHz
- Geforce GTX 1050
- 500GB HDD

That's probably all the data we need for this but I think you get the idea. It's alright but not great by any means.

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2020, 11:57:39 AM »
Try disabling the high resolution system timer @ Misc -> Options, right above the "Show Debug Console" setting.

Did you try that?

Offline Dralro

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2020, 12:37:16 PM »
Did you try that?

I have tried all the relevant suggestions yes.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Emulator taking forever to load
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2020, 02:28:31 PM »
I can only think of 3 possible/probable things that might be wrong:
1: anti-virus/anti-malware conflict
  try: scan system, disconnect from network and then try the emulator
2: some kind of hardware/driver or OS issue
  try: booting into safe mode
3: an actual virus or malware, or some weird non-virus background process that is messing with your system
  try: scanning, if that isn't helpful: use process explorer by sysinternals to try to find the system-hog.  There's some tutorials on howto use process explorer on youtube & the web to find bad processes.  Check it out.

best of luck,
- dink
« Last Edit: July 20, 2020, 02:32:25 PM by dink »