Author Topic: Mouse, spinner, trackball support status in lr-fbneo  (Read 117 times)

Offline Amplifuzz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Mouse, spinner, trackball support status in lr-fbneo
« on: July 26, 2020, 09:10:54 PM »
What's the current status of mouse/spinner/trackball in the retroarch fbneo core under raspberry pi retropie? I can't seem to get anything to work in Arkanoid for example.

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: Mouse, spinner, trackball support status in lr-fbneo
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2020, 04:52:38 AM »
Set "Quick Menu > Controls > Port 1 Controls > Device Type" to one of those 2 values :
- "Mouse (ball only)" : only the analog movements will be mapped to the mouse, the buttons will stay on the controller, i think it's especially useful if you have a trackball/spinner in an arcade cabinet (they have no buttons ?)
- "Mouse (full)" : buttons will also be mapped to mouse buttons (there is a limit of 5 buttons), i think it's especially useful with a desktop mouse

Also, there is a known issue with retroarch's behavior when using those kind of devices : https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/issues/9325

Offline Amplifuzz

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Mouse, spinner, trackball support status in lr-fbneo
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2020, 02:36:11 PM »
Thanks, it works! Just a couple of requests:

- "Invert X axis" toggle, like MAME has. My spinner is backwards for some reason
- Analog speed option that can go beyond 200%, as it's not fast enough for my spinner (up to 500% would be perfect)

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: Mouse, spinner, trackball support status in lr-fbneo
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2020, 02:27:18 AM »
- well, i am not supposed to add core options for input settings (i heard it's causing netplay issues so it's strongly recommended against for libretro cores), so you should consider either fixing your spinner (i see some topics about this on internet) or making a feature request at https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/issues
- for some time now there has been a proper setting for analog speed in "Settings > Input > Analog Sensitivity" which does up to x5, the old "Analog Speed" core option is actually something i'm supposed to remove for the reason mentioned above