Author Topic: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?  (Read 373 times)

Offline Class316

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« on: September 30, 2020, 09:30:41 PM »
Why can't I seem to load anything? I select the rom directory, it scans, and nothing happens. Can't even show available or unavailable.

The roms are in 7zip and can be read by both MAME and FB Alpha. So why is FB Neo seemingly a dud? I'm using the newest version of everything.

On that note, I was trying to play ZIntrick on FB Alpha and audio didn't work. Is this an issue with the emulator? Was hoping this issue would be fixed with FB Neo. 

update: This is odd. I got a ZIntrick ISO/MP3 and it gave sound. But ISO/WAV did not. Must be the cue file or the download. My FB Neo issue still remains.

update2: I took the cue that came with the ISO/MP3 and changed the contents to reflect the WAV files. Put it on the ISO/WAV directory, tried it on FB Alpha and that worked! HA, awesome. One issue solved without even looking for new downloads. 
« Last Edit: September 30, 2020, 10:42:17 PM by Class316 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3749
  • Karma: +323/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2020, 11:44:08 PM »
For cd's there's a separate interface it's "Game -> Load NeoGeo CDZ game"
For regular arcade/neogeo mvs/avs roms use "Game -> Load Game"

In FBNeo we have much better NeoGeo CD emulation, it supports bin/cue or trurip's.  we had to ditch the old iso+wav format to make this happen though.  A program called CDMage will convert your cue+iso+wav's to bin/cue if you'd like.

CDMage how-to and link: https://neo-source.com/index.php?topic=2487.msg26465#msg26465
CDMage is a very small & nice program, no ads or crap comes with it.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Class316

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2020, 05:02:05 PM »
For cd's there's a separate interface it's "Game -> Load NeoGeo CDZ game"
For regular arcade/neogeo mvs/avs roms use "Game -> Load Game"

In FBNeo we have much better NeoGeo CD emulation, it supports bin/cue or trurip's.  we had to ditch the old iso+wav format to make this happen though.  A program called CDMage will convert your cue+iso+wav's to bin/cue if you'd like.

CDMage how-to and link: https://neo-source.com/index.php?topic=2487.msg26465#msg26465
CDMage is a very small & nice program, no ads or crap comes with it.

best regards,
- dink

I do appreciate this info a lot and will use the software to convert (The 4 NGCD games I have are iso/wav). But I still can't manage to load up anything (roms or otherwise) in FB Neo. I have it directed to the rom paths. Even when I click show unavailable it shows nothing. What is going on?
« Last Edit: October 01, 2020, 05:10:26 PM by Class316 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3749
  • Karma: +323/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2020, 07:58:38 PM »
Hi Class316,
Maybe one of  the check-boxes is unchecked, make sure these are all checked:
Board Type
Family
Genre
Hardware

Also un-check Favorites - when this is checked, only games that are marked as favorite will show up here.

good luck!

best regards,
- dink

Offline Class316

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2020, 03:05:59 AM »
Hi Class316,
Maybe one of  the check-boxes is unchecked, make sure these are all checked:
Board Type
Family
Genre
Hardware

Also un-check Favorites - when this is checked, only games that are marked as favorite will show up here.

good luck!

best regards,
- dink

ahh better it works now. Checked board type, family, and genre. That works.

I also couldn't get NG CDs to work and assumed it was because the bios wasn't being detected. But it's because there's no ISO/WAV support. So I should fix that.

I guess FB Neo is an updated FB Alpha?

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3749
  • Karma: +323/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: Can't load roms on Final Burn Neo?
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2020, 08:51:44 AM »
Class316,
Yes - we just changed the name - that's all :)

best regards,
- dink