Author Topic: I got 2 questions about FBN  (Read 2253 times)

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
I got 2 questions about FBN
« on: March 18, 2023, 01:40:19 PM »
Hello, I have 2 questions as the title says :smilie:

1- How to disable the frame input counter on bottom right when playing a replay?
2- How to run NES games (other systems in general)? I added a ROM and did a scan but the emulator seems not to recognize it, arcade games run fine.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2023, 08:24:53 PM »
Hi Dalsim44,
Misc -> Options -> Display Mode Indicator will turn it off

the fastest route to #2 - google: archive.org fbneo

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2023, 09:38:55 AM »
Hello dink,

Thank you for the reply, for the 1st question I've already did that but it only turn off the top-right indicators not the frame counter on bottom, I'm trying to create gameplays of my favorite retro games and prefer to have the videos without it.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2023, 05:55:24 PM »
Sorry I made a mistake, its actually shift-backspace to toggle it on / off. 

When recording with the built in avi writer, it shouldn't record the osd stuff or the frame counts.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2023, 10:30:22 PM »
Thank you for letting me know  ;p

I use Nvidia Shadowplay to record so I can save disk space (mp4).

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2023, 12:12:05 AM »
Did you try the x264vfw codec from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/x264vfw/ ?

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2023, 04:59:32 PM »
Hi dink,

TBH I haven't tried it, Nvidia's SP does a great job and if I need more extended software I use ShareX.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2023, 09:15:57 AM »
Just thought I should mention: one of the benefits of the internal writer is that it can write with ffwd toggled (shift-f1) - it's a new feature, so you'll need to grab the latest nightly build if interested, at the usual spot:
https://github.com/finalburnneo/FBNeo/releases/tag/latest

p.s. if you come across any games that won't play back inputs correctly - for example, the player dies but shouldn't - please let me know, I'm working to fix all the emulation of the games that have this problem.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2023, 09:21:59 AM »
Hi dink,

Thank you for mentioning that, I indeed grabbed the nightly build and it ran NES games unlike v1.0.0.2, but the enhanced blitter is disabled now! so I can't use my preferred filters.
The SoftFX is giving error when trying to go fullscreen and got most of the scaling filters disabled anyway.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2023, 09:26:18 AM »
Hi dink,

Thank you for mentioning that, I indeed grabbed the nightly build and it ran NES games unlike v1.0.0.2, but the enhanced blitter is disabled now! so I can't use my preferred filters.
The SoftFX is giving error when trying to go fullscreen and got most of the scaling filters disabled anyway.

Grab the 32bit version, it has the enhanced blitter (d3d7 is incapable of running in 64bit mode)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2023, 09:40:15 AM »
I can only find the nightly Linux/source builds, I see those just got updated  :biggrin:

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2023, 09:47:11 AM »
If some files are missing, give it a few minutes and check back - it means the system is in the process of creating a new build.

best regards,
- dink

Offline Dalsim44

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2023, 10:39:38 AM »
Thank you dink, I got the 32-bit build, I did an input replay with a scaling algo enabled for Contra and Neo Bomberman (Stage 1) and it worked like a charm, Metal Slug X gave a warning error on launch (Error reading 250-c3.c3 from mslugx) and it gave graphical glitches, but maybe it's a rom/bios issue.

Edit: MS3 worked correctly.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2023, 10:55:02 AM by Dalsim44 »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5084
  • Karma: +443/-1
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: I got 2 questions about FBN
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2023, 01:22:37 PM »
Thank you for the feedback :)
Glad it worked out!

Regarding mslugx: 250-c3.c3 is a sprite rom.  Try re-downloading the rom (mslugx.zip), it should be alright after replacing the broken set. :)

best regards,
- dink