Author Topic: FBN Bugs Reports  (Read 2597 times)

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #60 on: July 15, 2020, 05:46:44 PM »
The garbled back is about the missing dma status, afaik it happens the second time the vs screen appears (onward), with or without the dips enabled.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2020, 05:49:27 PM by barbudreadmon »

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #61 on: July 16, 2020, 04:22:29 PM »
This one looking super fishy??... the tunnel scene in the intro for taito's (super chase - criminal termination)
« Last Edit: July 16, 2020, 08:28:21 PM by the_maq »

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #62 on: July 16, 2020, 04:45:17 PM »
The return of the dreaded diagnostic romtest screen for xmen 4p version - thought i'd might as well report it - wondering if this is a pcb bug on konami's part or an emulation issue :confused: xmen 6p version runs great with no hitches - don't know whats wrong here??
« Last Edit: August 04, 2020, 08:44:25 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #63 on: July 16, 2020, 07:38:50 PM »
the_maq, regarding xmen4p - what brought that error up this time?

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #64 on: July 16, 2020, 07:43:41 PM »
the_maq, regarding xmen4p - what brought that error up this time?
The same old game continue scenario..
« Last Edit: July 29, 2020, 05:25:35 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #65 on: July 16, 2020, 08:01:41 PM »
Since I can't reproduce this on my side, a savestate from right before this problem happened is needed.

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #66 on: July 16, 2020, 08:15:11 PM »
Since I can't reproduce this on my side, a savestate from right before this problem happened is needed.

best regards,
- dink
Here it is...
P.S this is on the latest build..
« Last Edit: July 16, 2020, 08:24:28 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #67 on: July 16, 2020, 09:06:50 PM »
The latest update might help with that, please let me know if the problem happens again.

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #68 on: July 16, 2020, 09:07:52 PM »
Unfortunately there's no hope for the glitches in super chase (and another taito driving game, I forget the name of...)  Perhaps someday though, when more is known about the systems they run on.

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #69 on: July 16, 2020, 09:38:44 PM »
The latest update might help with that, please let me know if the problem happens again.

best regards,
- dink
Nope problem still remaining - regards
« Last Edit: July 16, 2020, 09:59:14 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #70 on: July 16, 2020, 10:37:22 PM »
the_maq,
hmm, I'm trying to understand this one a bit better so I can come up with another workaround.  Do you have all 4 of the start buttons mapped to a single button, or are you pressing each players start button individually?  at the same time?  Does it happen if you hit each player's start button a little later than the other?

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #71 on: July 16, 2020, 11:08:45 PM »
Dink i had another go on this.. i think i worked it out - just occured to me that how about mapping all the start buttons to start button 1 then bingo it worked no signs of the test menu..!! the only time it'll hit the screen is when continuing game with the following buttons whether it's the punch, the kick, or the mutant power - imo this is what's jinxing it - what do you think??
« Last Edit: July 22, 2020, 09:17:41 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #72 on: July 16, 2020, 11:50:58 PM »
so, the problem is: the game needs a few frames to start each character after a continue.. if they all start at the same time, the program code will partially crash leaving some debug stuff on the screen.  I'm pretty confident that this is a bug in konami's code, and would even be willing to bet money that if you wired all 4 start buttons to 1 button w/the PCB and tried continuing with it (or use the punch button), it would do the same thing.

I added a workaround for the 4p version, you'll have to use the start button to continue (by mapping all the start buttons to 1 button).  Unfortunately there is no way to serialize the punch buttons without horribly affecting gameplay, so the start button will have to do.

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #73 on: July 17, 2020, 12:18:26 AM »
Well that's that clarified eh..it's fine by me...regards :cool:
« Last Edit: July 17, 2020, 12:41:35 AM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3562
  • Karma: +307/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #74 on: July 17, 2020, 12:42:36 AM »
yes, grab the exe again as I did a little revision.  btw, I posted that last message before I saw your previous message