Author Topic: FBN Bugs Reports  (Read 3001 times)

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #75 on: July 18, 2020, 12:37:10 AM »
the_maq, thanks for the bug report!

my, how the years go by...
This bug in viostorm has been haunting me for years now.  After I read your message I thought - damn, another thing we can't fix.  Gave it another try tonight for a couple hours, and got it.   And Robert is going to toss the fix into MAME as well, so fans of either emulator will be able to enjoy it :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #76 on: July 18, 2020, 01:50:00 AM »
the_maq, thanks for the bug report!

my, how the years go by...
This bug in viostorm has been haunting me for years now.  After I read your message I thought - damn, another thing we can't fix.  Gave it another try tonight for a couple hours, and got it.   And Robert is going to toss the fix into MAME as well, so fans of either emulator will be able to enjoy it :)

best regards,
- dink
Konami's 2d arcade emulation has come a long way if i recall all the way back from 1997 on mame so here's hoping that the little remaining titles get fixed or close enough on fba in the not too distant future.. :cool: btw is the fix in for violent storm? - regards and thx
« Last Edit: July 18, 2020, 02:07:52 AM by the_maq »

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #77 on: July 18, 2020, 03:39:10 AM »
my, how the years go by...
This bug in viostorm has been haunting me for years now.  After I read your message I thought - damn, another thing we can't fix.  Gave it another try tonight for a couple hours, and got it.   And Robert is going to toss the fix into MAME as well, so fans of either emulator will be able to enjoy it :)

I kinda feel like you say that every time. :)
You're the man! And very cool about sharing such fixes with MAME.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #78 on: July 18, 2020, 09:14:40 AM »
Stifu, most of the bugs left in fb are the ones which couldn't be fixed years ago that I gave up on, so I'm always super happy and somewhat amazed when one of those get fixed :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #79 on: July 18, 2020, 10:28:52 PM »
Thought i might as well report this bugger again - neogeo cd big tournament golfs record table looking dodgy from the sides?? :S
« Last Edit: July 18, 2020, 10:31:46 PM by the_maq »

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #80 on: July 19, 2020, 12:00:37 AM »
And what do youz make of this odd glitch for teenage mutant ninja turtles arcade??. Notice there's no screen flickering at the top right of the screen in capture 2, could be due to less onscreen action?? I don't think this is a pcb bug :S
« Last Edit: August 06, 2020, 07:54:16 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #81 on: July 19, 2020, 01:16:18 AM »
the_maq,
regarding..
ngcd golf: ngcd emulation shows the overscan, as some games actually draw useful stuff there, then you get some games that occasionally draw garbage there.

tmnt: the timing looks fine in our code, it looks like this one is down to too much onscreen activity causing lower priority objects to get left out of the frame.  since this happens for 1 frame occasionally, most probably wouldn't notice it on an arcade machine due to both pov and phosphor reactivity of the crt.

Offline Robert

  • MAME Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +27/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #82 on: July 22, 2020, 05:20:37 AM »
the_maq, thanks for the bug report!

my, how the years go by...
And Robert is going to toss the fix into MAME as well, so fans of either emulator will be able to enjoy it :)

Added as a mirror, so now that pesky blue area is gone.

EDIT:  Added the xmen6p fix too.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2020, 08:22:01 AM by Robert »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #83 on: July 22, 2020, 09:43:10 AM »
Robert, thanks! :)

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #84 on: July 25, 2020, 12:08:20 AM »
This is weird looking..?? the black borders look incomplete or vice versa..??
« Last Edit: August 09, 2020, 07:25:59 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #85 on: July 25, 2020, 12:44:10 AM »
the_maq,
it's called the overscan area, we're emulating it properly.
here's a video, look at 00:28 to see how it looks like on a real neogeo cd system:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSNSeOjwWwc

best regards,
- dink

Offline littlebear

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #86 on: July 25, 2020, 07:34:09 AM »
X2222 (5-level prototype) black screen after load.


Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #87 on: July 25, 2020, 09:28:07 AM »
littlebear, thanks - x2222o is fixed c/o iq_132

best regards,
- dink

Offline the_maq

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #88 on: August 04, 2020, 09:06:37 PM »
Raiden 2 - when inserting coins before the gameplay intro in capture 1 the game title looks normal but if you insert them after gameplay intro rolls out you get this in capture 2 - the game titles got some weird blue grey sh** going??
« Last Edit: August 09, 2020, 03:49:03 PM by the_maq »

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3577
  • Karma: +308/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #89 on: August 04, 2020, 10:56:33 PM »
the_maq, nice spot :)
This time you've actually found a bug in the game, it happens on the PCB of Raiden 2 as well.

Here's a video of Raiden 2 (pcb) played on a Taito Egret2 cab: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmzXdj7BPfk

best regards,
- dink