Author Topic: FBN Bugs Reports  (Read 6630 times)

Offline RN

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #150 on: August 26, 2020, 04:05:54 AM »
@dink

I understand now about the settings and switched between them to test, ref:

 
Quote
no interpolation (Audio -> 2 point sample interp. setting) - sounds like the pcb recordings of sf2/sf2ce
 linear interpolation (Audio -> 4point sample interp., reduces digital aliasing a bit at the expense of top end(treble))

The "Audio -> 2 point sample interp" is far superiour, reduced clicks/pops, higher treble and brighter.

Note: this doesn't just affect one game rom "sf2ce", it affects all of the cps1 sf2 parent/child (sf2x) variants such as:

sf2hf
sf2b
sf2ceua
sf2koryu

etc.
No doubt affecting all of the cps1 games in general?


I was taking a look at the MSM6295 chip details (.pdf)

http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/images/2/22/MSM6295_-_Manual.pdf

It states:

Code: [Select]
Clock frequncy : 1MHz to 5Mhz

Sampling frequency:
6.5 kHz and 8 kHz (@1.056 Mhz clock)
25.6 kHz and 32 kHz (@4.224 MHz clock)

It looks like up to 32 kHz of sampling can be used? (via clock speed of 4.224 Mhz)


-----------------------------------------
The following information may or may not be relevant:

In a very old mame version it states on game rom info for sf2ce :

Code: [Select]
1xYM2151 3.579580 Mhz
1xMSM6295 7.756 kHz


In groovy mame:

Code: [Select]
Yamaha YM2151 OPM 3.579545Mhz
OKI MSM6295 ADPCM 1.00000000MHz

for both see attached .png images.

It looks from this novice viewpoint that the MSM6295 is being underclock in groovy mame (which could further lead to more cracking popping issues?)

Perhaps this is all academic and of no use, but I'm curious to find the issues/bugs and wonder if any of this info can help.

dink, the change you made already has helped a lot in satisfying my ears and will help others too that have raised this issue of low sound quality.

---- once you hear it..... you can't unhear it ever again..... ----


Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #151 on: August 26, 2020, 09:32:10 AM »
RN,
Try to understand this: the sample rate of the recorded sample data on cps1 is 7.5khz, the only way you can change this is to re-record the samples at a higher rate.  The 6295 in both of those mame versions is absolutely the same:
1mhz / 132 = 7575 (7.5khz, i guess we could say 7.6khz to round it up.... but you get the point)
132 is the divider at which the msm6295 runs at.

If you overclock a 6295 to run at a higher rate, it will play the music & sfx faster - like a 33 1/3 record being played at 78rpm.

to sum up: in order to run the msm6295 at a higher sampling rate, it needs to be supplied pcm data (music+sfx) at the higher rate, and that is impossible unless you can jump in your DeLorean(and don't forget, need to go 88mph while supplying 1.21 jigga-watts to the flux capacitor), learn Japanese and go back to when they were developing CPS1 and convince them to record their samples at a higher rate :)

The change I made to the msm6295 affects any game that uses the chip, not just cps1 :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Kev

  • FBNeo Dev
  • ******
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #152 on: August 26, 2020, 04:34:07 PM »
In my really limited testing, I think it sounds much better with the changes.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #153 on: August 27, 2020, 09:53:50 AM »
thanks for trying, Kev :)

Offline Agozer

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #154 on: August 27, 2020, 02:07:39 PM »
In Tengai (World), one of the DIP switch settings is not labeled (Flip screen?); the option to change it is there, but the label is blank. Also, the "(World)" part of the title is not capitalized.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #155 on: August 28, 2020, 12:50:15 AM »
Agozer, thanks - the Tengai issues & the CPS3 romlist issue are fixed

best regards,
- dink

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #156 on: August 28, 2020, 12:53:41 AM »
the_maq, please give tmnt2 another try - I came up with a simple fix to get all of the fading scenes to work right.  At least - I think I got them all!

best regards,
- dink

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #157 on: August 28, 2020, 03:18:54 AM »
Talking about sound issues, I just tried Schmeiser Robo. Some voices seem to be missing, like, you can't hear the announcer in FBN.
Here's a recording of the original PCB, for comparison: https://youtu.be/boc8Za8yE8s
When a round starts, you can hear "Ready... Fight!" (at 0:40, for example). You can't hear that in FBN (Edit: well, sometimes you can, but not always... Not sure what's going on. Maybe it only fails to work for the very first round?).

Just in case my report fell through the tracks, I'm bumping it.
I don't deeply care about that game, honestly, but I guess whatever might improve FBN is worth investigating.

Offline stoo

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Perpetual noob.
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #158 on: August 28, 2020, 05:44:27 AM »
@stifu I think it's slightly more complicated than that.

In FBNeo there doesn't seem to be any PCM audio at all until an actual in-game sound effect is played (by that I mean generated by a character fighting).

The "triggering" sound effect can be in the attract mode demo, the pre-game instruction, or when the player actually begins playing. Once any "fighting" sound effect plays, all others will then play normally.

There should be sound effects:

  • when the game starts up during the export warning
  • when you add credits
  • when you select a character
  • as the characters' stats are drawn on screen

If you simply enter coins and start the game before any other sounds have a chance to play, the sounds listed above will not be played, and neither will the "Ready... Fight!" sample. The first sound played will be a character attacking.

Finally, the PCM audio also seems to be too quiet and/or the music too loud in FBNeo. They should be more balanced.

(p.s. @dink - this is adelpha, using my normal username that wasn't available on github)
« Last Edit: August 28, 2020, 05:53:04 AM by stoo »

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #159 on: August 28, 2020, 06:22:00 AM »
Someone tried it on MAME ? Maybe that's game bug ?

Offline stoo

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Perpetual noob.
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #160 on: August 28, 2020, 06:23:33 AM »
It's fine in MAME. That's how I know it's supposed to play audio during the export warning and coin entry. :P

Also, hi barbu. Now I have two venues with which to annoy you with bug reports ;)

Actually, three if you count the RetroPie forums.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2020, 06:28:53 AM by stoo »

Offline barbudreadmon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: +27/-1
  • Helper
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #161 on: August 28, 2020, 06:35:17 AM »
Actually, three if you count the RetroPie forums.

No problem, i try to be present everywhere :). Thanks for confirming the issue doesn't exist on MAME, i'll check if i can find information about it.

Offline dink

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +318/-0
  • pie? I nearly bought one!
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #162 on: August 28, 2020, 08:59:22 AM »
Stifu,
Sorry about overlooking your post - sometimes when too much stuff happens my brain fails to see things right in-front of me :)
Anyhow - the fix is in :)

best regards,
- dink

Offline Stifu

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #163 on: August 28, 2020, 12:22:09 PM »
No problem, dink, and thanks!

Offline Agozer

  • Newbies
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FBN Bugs Reports
« Reply #164 on: August 28, 2020, 04:49:20 PM »
In the game information panel for Tapper (Budweizer), the file for the Midway SSIO Sound Board (82d123.12d) is listed twice. IIRC, happens with every game the uses said file.